How to limit disk space of the pool on one specific drive

pguizze

Question

HI all,

I searched through the forum but didn't find any solution.

I have 7 disks in my DrivePool pool and I'm using one drive of that pool to store other stuff than what I have in the pool (and that I didn't want in the pool).

My issue is that DrivePool is using all the disk space of that drive and does not let me enough space for my out-of-the-pool folder.

How to "limit" or "reduce" the total amount on that drive for DrivePool ? 

I'm not an expert of DrivePool honestly. Through a File placement rule ? But how ? In my pool I have all possible file types...

Thx for your help !

8 answers to this question

A file placement rule would unfortunately not work here - it would take all files you told it to watch for (a filemask of *) and fill up the drive you were trying to limit (to a %) before all other drives.

The Ordered File Placement plugin will similarly fill up drives in the order you specify.  They are sequentially queued for filling, which you don't want.

You can currently only limit drives in the pool using the Drive Usage Limiter plugin to a global percentage full, equally.  Perhaps someday that plugin will allow separate sliders per drive.  I'd personally like to see that as an option.  i.e. a 90% global limit across all pool drives, where a single 4TB drive is limited to 50% space used equates to 1.8TB usable space for DrivePool.  Or..  the most limiting setting is the effective one.

The easy way I see this being solved for you is separating the physical drive into multiple partitions, sizing them according to how much space you want to give DrivePool on the first, and yourself on the second.  You will need to shrink the existing partition on the drive to get enough space for the second.

I think that this has been asked for before. 

But just in case:
https://stablebit.com/Admin/IssueAnalysis/27889