Jump to content
Covecube Inc.
  • 1

New Update Problem


Question

8 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
On 7/9/2018 at 12:21 PM, DotJun said:

I wish the install stated that it would erase your settings so I could have opted out of the update or at least copied my settings down first.

At a minimum, update instructions should suggest a screen print before upgrade to document names and locations of disks. (Implementation of a print capability - Ticket 6750140 - would have gone a long way toward mitigating this upgrade problem.)

Edited by Mick Mickle
Reference ticket suggesting disk inventory print feature from a few years ago.
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Well, I don't mean to minmize the issue, at all.... but this generally happens to only about 5-6 people (or at least, that's how many report it).   So, it's no a huge thing. 

That said, 

  • We've looked into this issue in the past, with little success
  • Alex is planning a "deep dive" to look into this issue ( @Mick Mickle, I believe Alex mentioned that to you in the ticket, actually), and we've talked about this
  • The new JSON format for the setting store (located in "C:\ProgramData\StableBit Scanner\Service\Store\Json") should be much more resiliant. 
    in fact, I tested out copying the folder elsewhere, nuked the settings, and restored the JSON folder.  I did this on my production server, and can verify that it works.  So, if you backup the folder in question, you setting should be safe, from here on out.
 
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Thanks, Christopher. It sounds like the problem is solved moving forward from 3090 and 3091. Still to come is data export/print capability for specific disk details, settings, and locations, some of which will be available in the future in Stablebit Cloud, I understand.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
3 hours ago, Christopher (Drashna) said:

Well, I don't mean to minmize the issue, at all.... but this generally happens to only about 5-6 people (or at least, that's how many report it).   So, it's no a huge thing.

@Mick Mickle

 

+1 (people) from my site. I was wondering too, but due to a SSD drive swapping the housing of my homeserver was already open.

Looking forward to see this (deleting) feature not a second time.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...