Migrate Local Plex Server + GDrive to Seedbox + GDrive

davidkain

Question

Hi there,

I'm considering migrating my existing Plex Server to a seedbox (Seedbox.cc if that's relevant), with media stored in Google Drive. Currently, I have Plex Server running locally on an Intel NUC, with all media stored in an encrypted Drive Pool on Google Drive. This is via StableBit CloudDrive/Pool.

My question is what my migration process would look like. What I'm hoping I can do is simply purchase the seedbox, install Plex Server, and point it at my existing media in Google Drive. Is that feasible given my existing configuration? I'm not entirely sure how I would manage CloudDrive/DrivePool in this process.

For context, I believe my low upload speeds (10/mbps) are causing my remote users issues with their ability to stream. Hopefully, moving the Plex Server into the cloud eliminates that.

Appreciate any insight! I'm a layman, so apologies if this is an obvious question.

Thank you for your time.

13 answers to this question

I'm not sure if there is any complication that I'm missing in what you're asking here, but, based on how I'm reading your question (and my read is that you are already using CloudDrive for your data), you should be able to simply detach the drive from the computer that it is presently mounted to and attach it to your remote server once CloudDrive and DrivePool are installed. Note that both applications are Windows only, and Windows Server can be expensive in a data center.

It's certainly possible but cloud hosting can be prohibitively expensive if you intend to get a system capable of hardware transcoding (a computational must for more than one or two high resolution streams) along with the bandwidth capacity.

Furthermore, you'll probably want to look at providers who has locality to your client streaming locations.