Jump to content
Covecube Inc.
  • 0
WickedLlama

New Build how do I copy settings?

Question

So I am doing a new build and need to know what the best way of making sure I don't lose data.  

Once I install the new drives is there anything I need to copy of the old PC or data to make sure my current config is not lost?! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

The new build, is that an OS-reinstall or a new machine? And the "new drives", are they really new or just Pooled HDDs transferred from one system to the other.

I'll give a few pointers:
1. De-activate your license on the current machine. Do write down the license code somewhere, you'll need it on the new machine.
2. Settings are stored in the Pool itself and DP on another machine will pick them up once it finds the Pooled HDDs. It should be easy BUT:
3. If you use a balancer add-in that is not installed by default then I would first build the machine while not connecting the Pooled HDDs. Install DP, activate and then install the add-in(s). Only then (and a reboot first makes sense to me) connect the Pooled HDDs.

You should be good to go.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
5 hours ago, Umfriend said:

The new build, is that an OS-reinstall or a new machine? And the "new drives", are they really new or just Pooled HDDs transferred from one system to the other.

I'll give a few pointers:
1. De-activate your license on the current machine. Do write down the license code somewhere, you'll need it on the new machine.
2. Settings are stored in the Pool itself and DP on another machine will pick them up once it finds the Pooled HDDs. It should be easy BUT:
3. If you use a balancer add-in that is not installed by default then I would first build the machine while not connecting the Pooled HDDs. Install DP, activate and then install the add-in(s). Only then (and a reboot first makes sense to me) connect the Pooled HDDs.

You should be good to go.

Okay I will give this a go!  Now what if I can not de-activate my current key...as my PC crashed. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

So DP will run as a trial for 30 days on the new machine. I guess you need to contact Stablebit to work this out. Perhaps Christopher can help out pursuant to this thread but you might want to open a ticket. Can't help you with that one (and if I could, I'd be selling licences! :ph34r:).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

×
×
  • Create New...