headless box stays dark over RDP - will I need to re-install the setup?

p3x-749

Question

Hi Folks,

first things first: sorry I am a windoze noob 

I have one windoze-7-HP/64bit box running completely headless with DrivePool...

BTW: this is the only windoze box in da house  ;)

So far, all my services are managed over the Web.

When I had the need to login into windoze directly, I did use an RDP client, which worked flawlessly up until now.

For some time now, I noticed, that connecting over RDP failed...the client can connect, but then stalls, no screen, no login for credentials from the box  :(

The box is still running and all other services are up and running, but I am getting a bit worried.

Question 1:  are there any tipps&tricks from the windoze cracks out here on how to fix the RDP issue?

Question2:   If I cannot resolve my RDP problem, I'd rather resort to re-install the box from scratch...can I re-apply the DrivePool license as with a new install?

TIA,

p3x-749

10 answers to this question

Do you have the option to connect physical KVM to the system?
If so, that may be the quickest solution.

Aside from that, have you tried "mstsc /admin"? This should log into the "console" session, and may work better.

Alternatively, if possible, maybe VNC may be a good alternative.

And I'm assuming that you've tried to reboot?

ALso:

Have you tried hitting "CTRL+SHIFT+ESC"?

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555840

Thanks for suggesting these options...really appreciate the help.

Do you have the option to connect physical KVM to the system?
If so, that may be the quickest solution.

well, yes...if I have to...but at that point I am going to restore if from scratch anyway..its been locked away for years.

Aside from that, have you tried "mstsc /admin"? This should log into the "console" session, and may work better.

Huh?...OK, I'll see what I can do...have to find me a windoze system first...using a linux based RDP client ATM.