Prefer existing folder option

Bertilsson

Question

I have been using drivepool for 2 years and I am extremely happy with it.

I don't use duplication or any of the balancer plug-ins. I simply use drivepool to pool all my disks together under one drive letter, and it does this amazingly well.

But I do miss one option which would make it even better and that would be for drivepool to prefer existing folders before creating new folders.

With that option activated a new folder would only be created if the folder does not exist or if the target disk is full.

If more than one folder already exists new files should go to the  least used disk with such a folder.

The reason for me wanting this feature is that in my Drivepool there are only two types of files:

* Files belonging to a season of a TV-Show (X:\TV\ShowName\SeasonNumber\)

* Files belonging to a Movie (X:\Movies\MovieName\)

If I have a disk failure I don't mind losing season 3 and 7 of a show or movie x, y and z. I can just suck it up and rip them from disk again. But losing random episodes or movie files would be a much bigger hazzle to restore.

I am aware of the Ordered File Placement plug-in and possibility to create multiple pools, but that is not really what I'm looking for.

4 answers to this question

Unfortunately, for now, the Ordered File Placement is probably the closest that you'll get to this. 

The ability to keep folder contents on the same disk is something that has been requested a lot. But the problem is that we'd basically have to completely rewrite the balancing code from scratch, and it's already pretty complex.  It's something that may happen in the future, but not in the immediate future. 

Indeed - Have a look at the General forum; I just added a reply to a long thread about this, where I give examples of complications.