[Feature Request] Rising prefetch buffer

danjames9222

Question

Hi,

My internet is a bit limited with only 75Mb down and 17up.

When streaming via Plex, I can get shows to start (i.e. on the first playback without it timing out as the cache builds) if I set it to 150MB but what would be useful would be if I could get it to rise to 400MB automatically after a few minutes of playback. Is this a feasible request in terms of programming? I'm not a developer and have no idea how feasible this is but it would help me immensely.

Many thanks,

Dan.

6 answers to this question

Hi,

My internet is a bit limited with only 75Mb down and 17up.

When streaming via Plex, I can get shows to start (i.e. on the first playback without it timing out as the cache builds) if I set it to 150MB but what would be useful would be if I could get it to rise to 400MB automatically after a few minutes of playback. Is this a feasible request in terms of programming? I'm not a developer and have no idea how feasible this is but it would help me immensely.

Many thanks,

Dan.

I second this request.

For example, if I have 100GB cache and I set the prefetch to 1GB, I think that would mean I would have a significant portion of the movie cached and shouldn't have to buffer much at all since the information is already at the disk; however with this setting I still get really bad buffering.

There really shouldn't be a need to do this. 

prefetching happens when sequential reads occur.  And this is a rolling prefetching. Meaning, that as you continue to read the data, it will continue to prefetch data.  So, as you read, it will grab that 150MB ahead.  

Setting this too high means that everything time you read "x" amount of data (the "prefetch trigger"), it will download the "forward" amount.  This means that you could very easily get into situations where it's downloading large chunks of data that NEVER get used.  That's wasteful.  

There really shouldn't be a need to do this.