Best strategy to migrate 20TB to drivepool

Spider99

Question

Hi

Just planning to move 20TB to a new drivepool setup

i have the option to add a SSD cache to the pool(s) and I am wondering if i should not enable the ssd cache until after the transfer is complete - as it appears if you do not have the settings quite right (as i'm new at this) you can fill up the ssd before they have a chance to move the data into the pool and hence complicate the issue. I obviously want this to run unattended as its probably going to take more than a day to complete.

From experience should i also disable duplication until its complete to speed things up?

A test copy(samba/smb) shows the transfer will happen at ~ 117/120 MB/s which is about the max you can expect for large files anyway

Anything else to be away of/consider?

Thanks

14 answers to this question

Well, how are you moving the data? 

I ask, beacuse we have a "quick and dirty" method, to expidite this:

http://wiki.covecube.com/StableBit_DrivePool_Q4142489

As for the setting up the SSD Optimizer balancer plugin, you can do that at any time. 

And no, you won't risk filling the disks right away. Until the balancer is enabled, the pool's default placement strategy for new files is to place the files on the disk with the most (absolute) free space. Meaning that unless these are LARGE SSDs, they'll be the last to get data. 

However, I would move the data over, let it rebalance and reduplicate the data before configuring the SSD options.  THis is because the "SSD Optimizer" uses the balancing system, and if the pool is duplicating data, it won't balance data off of the SSD drives right away. 

That said .... even if the SSDs get full, the software will move onto the next available disk, (by default, after the SSDs are 75% full). 

Additionally, if you are using duplication, then you will want to use multiple SSDs for the SSD Optimizer. 

Thanks