Questions: duplication, SSDs, free space, small files and other

cryodream

Question

A couple of days ago, I tried DrivePool and Scanner for the second time. About a year ago, scanner was not able to read SMART from my HBA and enclosures, so that was a bust and I has trouble with a bug in a release version of drivepool with saving settings while having multiple pools. So I decided no to...
I have never used any raid or parity solution before to protect my data. I tried unRaid from time to time years ago, did not like it. Recently I tried tRAID for the 3rd time and did not like it too, again. Then I looked into Snapraid + DrivePool and decided, nah.
I was always categorically against backup solution because of cost, but finally, I decided - enough. Drivepool and duplication, let's try this out.

After a couple of days, I have some questions:

1. How safe is to have 2x duplication? With Scanner running safety. I mean, over the past 10 years I've been reading again and again about all kinds of ways of data protection, from hardware raids to parity, to zfs, etc... 99% of the time you always come to the same warning - raid/parity/etc is not safety - backup is. Hence the question. Is Scanner + DrivePool's 2x duplication a way to feel sure that I won't loose data, the next time I'm gonna loose a drive?

2. Is drivepool's 2x duplication more secure (because of scanner) or less secure (bugs, whatever), than running 2 pools and syncing between them?

3. I was copying TBs of data to the pool from unpooled drives and noticed problems with small files. While copying big folders with lots of tiny files inside, like images, mp3 or even smaller, the speed was climbing up to impossible 300MB/s-400MB/s and then suddenly stopping and hanging for sometimes even a couple of minutes. Then again - copying resumes, speed climbs fast to impossible (I was copying from a single spinner, hence speed should be max ~100MB) and then hangs again. Here's the possible reasons, that come to mind: