Jump to content
Covecube Inc.
  • 0

Cloud Used Discrepancy with GUI


jdwarne
 Share

Question

I recently deleted over 2TB of data from my mapped clouddrive, and the "Cloud Used" displaying in the GUI does not appear to be updated.  I've restarted and verified the correct amount of space shows in file explorer.  There is a cleanup option, but from what I'm reading this is only to be used after a drive has been shrunk.

Is there a way to force update this?

Thanks!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

This is normal.  When deleting data from the drive, you're not actually removing that data.  NTFS just unlinks that data, and removes the file entries.   That actual data still resides on the disk.    This is how and why data recovery works, actually.  

Utilities like "SDELETE" zero out the data, as well, which should free it up. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
16 hours ago, Christopher (Drashna) said:

This is normal.  When deleting data from the drive, you're not actually removing that data.  NTFS just unlinks that data, and removes the file entries.   That actual data still resides on the disk.    This is how and why data recovery works, actually.  

Utilities like "SDELETE" zero out the data, as well, which should free it up. 

Follow up question on this, is there any windows utility that can zero out deleted files without filling the whole disk first?
from my understanding sdelete -z option fills ALL empty space with zero, would this not take a really long time "days" on a big and non full drive?

i have unlimited gdrive but i don't feel like wasting there space if at all possible, and having "Cloud Used" display "accurately" is also a nice bonus^^ 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...