Jump to content
Covecube Inc.
  • 0
slongmire

Another question on changing cluster size

Question

I am running WSE2012 (not R2) as my home server and recently replaced LOTS of very old 4tb disks with new 12tb disks. I reorganized and greatly simplified my DrivePool structure from 7 down to just two now, but sadly realized after nearly getting everything right I REALLY wish I had slowed down to consider formatting the "F: - File History Backups" drives as 64k clusters instead of 4k. 

 

I use this pool to receive the Macrium Reflect images of each client pc each night - so the file sizes are always BIG. The pool curently consists of 2 12tb drives (4k cluster), 2 5tb (4k) and 2 8tb (64k). I read apost about using load balancing to convert the cluster size, but could not find the option describe in my version of Drive Pool 2.2.0.877. the pool is set for 2x file duplication.

 

SO - Can I remove one 12 tb disk at a time - reformat it with 64k and then just add it back and let the pool rebuild SAFELY - i.e - without destroying the backups already stored?  I would physically remove the drive after a shut down and do the formatting on a separate machine and then place it back.

Sorry to be so scatterbrained about this - One of the 4tb drives in this machine died  and I thought I'd lost all the redirected user directory, but was able to find a backup and recovered 90% - so I'm a little gun shy right now!

 

Thanks for great support of a really great product!

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1 answer to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
6 hours ago, slongmire said:

I read apost about using load balancing to convert the cluster size, but could not find the option describe in my version of Drive Pool 2.2.0.877. the pool is set for 2x file duplication.

I think you're looking for the "Drive Usage Limiter" balancer.   but....

6 hours ago, slongmire said:

SO - Can I remove one 12 tb disk at a time - reformat it with 64k and then just add it back and let the pool rebuild SAFELY - i.e - without destroying the backups already stored?  I would physically remove the drive after a shut down and do the formatting on a separate machine and then place it back.

You'd want to use the "Duplicate data later" option, but yes.  And it will complain about "not enough disks" for duplication, until you re-add the drive. 

And you wouldn't need to pull the disk out. And normally, I'd comment about getting the right disk, but the "Duplicate data later" option should leave that data on the drive anyways. So you should be good, either way. 

6 hours ago, slongmire said:

Sorry to be so scatterbrained about this - One of the 4tb drives in this machine died  and I thought I'd lost all the redirected user directory, but was able to find a backup and recovered 90% - so I'm a little gun shy right now!

Absolutely understand!  Better safe than sorry! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

×
×
  • Create New...