Noob questions: problems with ASM1061, duplication, upgrading drives

Will R

Question

Ok so first off I am a newbie to Drivepool and I am currently evaluating it.  Box is Win 7 x64 pro, Asus M5A78L-M (AMD 760 chipset) AM3+ mlb with 6 sata 3 ports, FX 8320e, 16gb ram.  I also have a cheapo $10 IOcrest ASM1061 PCIe 2 sata expansion card (wanted to use for storage as opposed to boot drive).

Wanted to step up from my 2 x 2TB mirror and evaluating this vs drive bender vs flexraid vs W10 storage spaces, etc.

So I have 6 x 2TB WD Green drives, 1 has my data so I created a pool with 5 with the intent to do a clean copy, then add the 6th to the pool after.  Want to use 2x duplication (follow up question on that as well).  4 drives are on the onboard sata controller (AMD) with 2 on the ASM1061 card.

Downloaded 2.1.1.561.  It creates the pool fine after some format time.  Problems start when I start robocopy from my source drive.  Copy write is dead slow, and keeps timing out (robocopy timing out and pausing for 30 seconds constantly).  Looking in event logs, and I see sata errors pointing to drive 9 (which is on the pcie sata card).  If I leave it alone Drivepool will eventually disconnect the drive and kick it out of the pool.

Question #1 - any thoughts as to why drivepool hates this controller?  Windows seems fine with it, I can do a 1:1 robocopy to that drive when not pooled and no issues.  I did search on the forum and it seemed that was an OK controller to use.

Once I figured out it was the drive on the expansion controller, I swapped some cables around and had the same problem with whatever drive was plugged into that.  I gave up on that, yanked the PCIe Sata card, and just created a pool with 4 x 2TB drives.  No issues now, copy process is moving along fine.