Newbie Question

pap

Question

Hi I am new to drivepool, looks great. I am testing in the 30 Day´s Evaluation Period.

Is it possible to build a System (regarding on a specific balancing System) for Archive files. All new files are stored in a drivepool (2*n Disks) with duplication so all files are "safe". If the files get older then a specific amount of days (e.g.365) and are untouched (no update or rewrite) i want to move the files to other disks (maybe a new pool??) like "Seag... Archive HDD v2 8TB" without duplicating. This Drives are based on "Shingled Magnetic Recording (SMR) Technology" which means that the writing Speed is slow especially for larger files or if disk usage is > 75%.

I know I could do th move manually or by script.

A scale out Option is a "first level Cache" build of SSD, fast but asynchronous move to a diskpool (with sync. duplication) and after xx Days moving to SMR Archive.

Thanks for any Help

Best Regards from Austria

Peter

3 answers to this question

Peter,

You should check out this thread:

http://community.covecube.com/index.php?/topic/1625-do-i-start-buying-8tb-archive-drives-or-not/

Check the answered section, as that should cover pretty much everything you want to know.

And specifically, we do have an "SSD Optimizer" balancer, that basically creates "write cache" drives (you'd want 2 disks for the SSD/write cache).  And it will move the files off the the "SSD" drives based on your balancing settings (immediately, once a day, etc). 

I use this with my system specifically, and it works very well. (I have 5x Seagate Archive 8TB drives).

Hi again

Thanks for quick answer, tried this in the follwing way.

Put a 480GB SSD to my Pool, installed "DrivePool.SSDOptimizerPlugin.Setup_1.0.3.5_x64", under Pool Options, Ausgleichen, Balancer   only SSD Optimizer is checked, my 2 test spinning Drives (WD Green 1TB) are marked as Archive, my SSD is marked as SSD. "Fill SSD drives up to" = 75%