Whats the recommended time frame to rescan the surface?

Abula

Question

Im new to scanner, but im loving it, im atm scanning all my hdd but takes like 8 hours or so to scan each 4tb, i see has multiple features into how to schedule and when, but idk whats recommended, i wont be able to scan all drives at once that would be good, just 8 hours and im done for the month, but scanning one by one will be 8x8 = 64 hours, thats more than a weekend, or i could give the first 8 days of the month to scan one by one on the night.... idk i guess im complicating my self into this, but would appreciate if you guys can share what do you guys do with the scanner and schedule?

13 answers to this question

AFAIK, it does scan drives simultaneously, to the extent the controller permits/can handle the I/O.

Moreover, Scanner halts/suspends scanning a single disk when other I/O needs that disk, so it can be done while you use the system (I am assuming it runs 24/7 BTW).

Also, and I think this is nice, the next scan starts xx days after the previous scan _ended_, not _started_. So, if it can not effectively scan all at the same time, it'll work itself out to do some sooner than others and the next time they'll start some time apart. And then, _if_ you notice (I/O) performance issues during scans, there are all kinds of settings to ensure controllers will not be overloaded. I would not tinker with the default settings unless there is an observed problem.

Personally, I have it set at every 14 days (had it weekly until recently). I have far less storage (1 x 1TB, 2x2TB, 1x750GB and the Server Backup HDD which is 2TB or 4TB depending on the rotation). I never ever noticed whether scanner was running or not. It just tells me it did when I check through the dashboard and I choose to believe her.

Given that your HDD can only access data about 120MB/s (average).... and that 4TB is ... well, 4 million MBs... that's roughly 9 hours and 15 minutes to scan a 4TB disk. So that seems right.