Local Drive Filling Up

burrellbloke

Question

I have been using CloudDrive for a few months now and am very impressed with the software.

I have a hosted server with a reasonably small SSD as storage. I have a CloudDrive attached holding about 7tb that is linked to a Google Drive. I have had this configuration for a few months but now I am starting to run out of disk space on my local SSD. The Google Drive has unlimited space and the CloudDrive is configured to have a capacity of 99tb.

I have a local cache of 5gb on the SSD and most of the time the local cache shows that the data left to upload is less than 1gb and will go down to virtually zero if there is no uploading or downloading going on.

I have used Piriform CCleaner to scan my local drive to find out what has been eating up my local SSD space and it tells me that I have about 60gb of cache files in c:\CloudPart.xxxx-xxxx-xxxx\ directory.

Do these cache files have to remain on my local drive forever or will they eventually not be used and remove themself?

The reason I ask the question is that when I set up the hosted server I started to create the CloudDrive and if the cache files will always be on my local SSD I will need to increase my current SSD size of 80gb.

6 answers to this question

The "CloudPart.xxxx" folder is the cache folder.  So, no, you don't want to remove  this folder or modify it. 

As for the 60GB reported ... this may or may not be accurate, as there is "size" and "size on disk" and these values may be completely different (especially for the cache). 

That said, What does the software report as the local cache usage? 

http://stablebit.com/Support/CloudDrive/Manual?Section=Main%20Window

And if you right click on the folder in question, what is the reported "Size on Disk"? 

The software reports the cache as being around 5gb - that is right as that is what I have in my settings.