Win7 Large Pool: 1 particular disk of 16, constantly disconnects/reconnects

surfyogi

Question

I have been using StableBit DiskPool for several years. I'm a true believer.

I rarely have to touch it, sometimes it goes a year at a time without much attention.

But recently, I see something I don't understand. My U: drive, is up and down, on and 

off the pool. It gets reported as off, and within a few seconds it has reconnected.

I have installed a power supply I think is big enough, since most of the disks are in

an external enclosure with it's own power. I don't see this same problem with

any other drive. 

I have moved the drive to different location in the cabinet, to test wires, power, etc. 

When I put it in an external dock, still does same thing..

So I cloned it to an identical new drive, and put it back in the main cabinet. New drive,

still does same thing. I have run dskchk on it, and it has a few problems, then it should be ok.

Every time I reboot, dskchk wants to give it some attention, but not that much, so I'm not sure what to do now. I've moved the data to a new drive, same issue; I'm thinking filesystem problems..

This may be a Windows thing, but still, it's got exclusively DiskPool files on it. And I have attempted

to remove and add it back to the pool. No help.

I am a veteran windows user, and I have tried everything I can think of (so far) to isolate this to a disk, or filesystem, or something I can deal with directly to fix it. 

I'm seriously thinking of adding a new drive to the pool, then migrate files off the new U: drive, and see what that does for me, but I can't imagine that should really be necessary. 

Any suggestions? 

3 answers to this question