Is there any way to ensure some directories is using the SSD cache

Javen

Question

Hello

I'm new to Stablebit and may ask something very basic. My question is about best way to use SSD as cache for HDD. Here is my rig:

• Windows 11
  • Intel P4510 SSD 2T x1
  • HC550 HDD 16T x1
  • Element HDD 14T x1

What I want to achive is that I would like to use a SSD as cache to accelerate the HDD. To achieve that purpose, I assigned all the disks into one pool and set P4510 as SSD amd others as archive in SSD optimizer plugin. (I also removed the driver letter assigned to these disks as I would like to use them only from the pool)

I store all data beside system into the pool, including movies, games, virtual machines, etc... I also set duplications for some of them.(e.g. virtual machines)

However, I found virtual machines speed is slow. e.g. starting apps in windows virtual machine may cost 10+ seconds. It's just like old days when we don't have SSD. Though I don't have evidence the virtual machine is running directly from HDD instead of SSD cache, I heavily suspect that.

So my questions are:

1. Is there any way to force some directory to use cache? Or if I use VM frequently enough, will diskpool copy it to cache eventually? (I guess the caching algorithm is based on the access frequence, right?)

2. If no, what I can do to achieve that goal?(Sure I understood create a pool purely based on SSD will achieve that, but let's not go to that firstly. As I still want cache enabled for HDD and the SSD slot on my mATX board is really limited, only 2.) 

3 answers to this question

On 1/7/2023 at 6:09 AM, Christopher (Drashna) said:

Just a heads up, the SSD Optimizer balancer is mostly meant for writes, and writes of new files.  It doesn't effect reads, unless those files are still on the SSD (or locked there). 

If you're looking to boost the read speeds, you'd want something like primocache.

Thanks for clarification.