Jump to content

  • Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Photo

Advantages / Disadvantages of the two versions of DP on WHS 2011


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 RobbieH

RobbieH

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

Posted 05 January 2015 - 03:07 PM

Sorry if this has been answered, but I couldn't find it. 

 

I'm currently on WHS 2011 running DP version 1.3.7585. I thought there used to be a FAQ detailing the advantages to moving to version 2.0 of DP, but I don't see it now. Is the general recommendation to stay on version 1.x, or should I be planning to move to version 2.x on my WHS 2011 machine?



#2 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 05 January 2015 - 09:56 PM

(I'm going to pin the thread, as it is commonly asked)

 

StableBit DrivePool v1.X is meant for WHS2011 (and that line of OS's). It features tight integration into the dashboard, and most of the same features.

 

StableBit DrivePool v2.X introduces it's own remote control scheme, supports reparse points (if you're not sure what this is, then you don't need it), and most importantly: File placement rules (allows you to specify which files or folders end up on which disk in the pool).

 

The license is valid for both products, and you can switch between them, if you are inclined. 

Additionally, the pool is backwards and forwards compatible (for the most part). 

 

We recommend the 1.X version unless you need one of the listed features. Or you can try both and figure out which you like more.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#3 RobbieH

RobbieH

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

Posted 05 January 2015 - 10:55 PM

Thank you, that answers my questions. I don't really care which disk gets which files or folders, and I don't care about reparse points.



#4 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 06 January 2015 - 12:19 AM

You are very welcome.

 

And in that case, then it doesn't matter which version you use here. And I would recommend trying out ... well, both and see which you like better.

 

But to be clear, you can't have both installed at the same time. You'll need to uninstall, reboot and then install the other to test both of them.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#5 Umfriend

Umfriend

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 373 posts

Posted 06 January 2015 - 06:55 AM

It's been so long since I used 1.x on my WHS2011 box, does it support more than one Pool like 2.x does?



#6 RobbieH

RobbieH

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

Posted 06 January 2015 - 09:34 PM

Christopher, thanks, but I have been running this since May of 2013 with no issues, so I am not going to change. But, I did just buy the scanner. :)

 

Umfriend, I think it only supports one pool. I don't have enough unpooled drives to try to build another one, so I'm not absolutely sure though.



#7 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 07 January 2015 - 02:35 AM

It's been so long since I used 1.x on my WHS2011 box, does it support more than one Pool like 2.x does?

 

Yes, the 1.X version support multiple pools.

It was added at 1.3.0.7534, specifically.

 

Christopher, thanks, but I have been running this since May of 2013 with no issues, so I am not going to change. But, I did just buy the scanner. :)

 

Umfriend, I think it only supports one pool. I don't have enough unpooled drives to try to build another one, so I'm not absolutely sure though.

If it isn't broke, don't fix it, right? :)

 

And glad to hear about the StableBit Scanner purchase. I hope you enjoy that as well!


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#8 Umfriend

Umfriend

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 373 posts

Posted 07 January 2015 - 10:44 AM

Kewl, I think I'll go back to 1.x then as I seem to remember the dashboard would show datausage by shared folder or something.

 

Just uninstalling 2.x and installing 1.x, right? License will remain without having to de-activate as it is in one and the same machine?



#9 RobbieH

RobbieH

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

Posted 07 January 2015 - 05:01 PM

Like this? :)

 

Hey Christopher, look, there's one of those ST3000DM001 drives. And, this is my second one. DrivePool kept me from losing anything (important) when the first one failed!

Attached Thumbnails

  • DrivePool.jpg


#10 Umfriend

Umfriend

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 373 posts

Posted 07 January 2015 - 06:50 PM

Yeah, but also in the Server Folders and Hard Drives tab IIRC



#11 RobbieH

RobbieH

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

Posted 07 January 2015 - 06:54 PM

Yes, it is there too, just a little different. So if you click on the pool drive (J: in my case) in Hard Drives, it will tell you how much is pooled and how much is duplication. If you click on an individual folder in Server Folders, it will tell you how much (data size) of each type of file is present.



#12 Umfriend

Umfriend

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 373 posts

Posted 07 January 2015 - 09:12 PM

And also, how much space is used by each server folder, that is what I am missing with 2.x Next weekend I'll upgrade to 1.x.



#13 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 07 January 2015 - 09:23 PM

Kewl, I think I'll go back to 1.x then as I seem to remember the dashboard would show datausage by shared folder or something.

 

Just uninstalling 2.x and installing 1.x, right? License will remain without having to de-activate as it is in one and the same machine?

Yes, the 1.X has the better dashboard integration.
And yes, it shows the usage per folder.

However, this relies on 3rd party controls for the display, and relies on information from Windows Search. 
Since both of these tend to be less than very reliable... that's why 2.X doesn't have them.

 

However, on our to-do list is better integration with the dashboard. It's not a high priority though.

 

Like this? :)

 

Hey Christopher, look, there's one of those ST3000DM001 drives. And, this is my second one. DrivePool kept me from losing anything (important) when the first one failed!

Yup, that's the nice folder display. And pie charts. :)

 

And I'm glad to hear it. I've had ... 4 of these develop issues in the last six months or so (but I was using external drives that I "shelled")


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#14 RobbieH

RobbieH

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

Posted 07 January 2015 - 09:39 PM

This was from an external drive that I shelled also. Why they sell those for less than stand-alone I have no idea. From now on, I'll just buy WD Red drives I think.



#15 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 07 January 2015 - 09:44 PM

This was from an external drive that I shelled also. Why they sell those for less than stand-alone I have no idea. From now on, I'll just buy WD Red drives I think.

Depending on who you ask, some people beleive that the external drives are 'sub-par' disks, that didn't met some quality standard. Since they won't be on all the time (in theory)..... should last longer that way...

 

But the reality may be simpler, they use different firmware than desktop drives. So they may not do as much. Hence cheaper.

 

 

And yeah, WD Reds or Seagate NAS drives (or Hitachi NAS drives) are the better choice.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#16 blueman2

blueman2

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 41 posts

Posted 16 January 2015 - 04:19 PM

Just to chime in on my own opinion of which version to use with WHS 2011.  I started with V1 and moved to V2.  From my perspective, V2 is the right choice.  

 

1) I like the V2 remote view/control scheme much better.  The WHS Dashboard is soooo sloooow to load whereas the V2 remote app for DP is super fast.  

2) I like being able to place certain files on a specific drive (I put my VM images on a very fast drive, for example)

3) I have yet to see any benefit of the tighter integration from V1 vs V2.  

 

So no downside with V2 over V1, and several areas of upside.  Frankly, I am surprised to see Covecube still supporting a separate product for WHS.  IMHO, V1 is really not needed.  


  • Christopher (Drashna) likes this

WHS 2011, Scaleo SS4200, 2G RAM, E4700

DP 2.2.0.614_x64

Scanner 2.5.1.3062


#17 RobbieH

RobbieH

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

Posted 16 January 2015 - 05:59 PM

Hey thank you, that is very good information!



#18 Vinn

Vinn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 30 March 2015 - 07:13 PM

Just to make sure.  To upgrade to 2.x I would just have to remove the DrivePool add-in from the Dashboard and then locally installed the 2.x?  The pool should pop right back up once the install is done without me doing anything?

 

Thanks for the help!



#19 RobbieH

RobbieH

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

Posted 30 March 2015 - 07:31 PM

Correct. Since I posted up this topic, I have upgraded my WHS server box to V2, then moved it to a new machine, then moved that to WSE 2012, all seamlessly on the same data drives. Once you reinstall the new product, it sees the pools and you just keep on keepin' on. 

 

On one case, I don't remember which, it did change drive letters. Just use Drive Manager and put it back to the original letter. I think though this was when I went from WHS 2011 to WSE 2012. Even with those changes, I have never had a single issue.



#20 Umfriend

Umfriend

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 373 posts

Posted 30 March 2015 - 07:37 PM

When I tried that, I did have an issue with the license so it may be worthwhile deactivating the license prior to removing the add-in (and REMEMBER what the license code is somewhere).






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Bing (1)