Jump to content

  • Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Photo

My Rackmount Server


  • Please log in to reply
96 replies to this topic

#21 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 04 June 2013 - 10:13 PM

@drashna: Thanks, and the rack I actually got off kijiji (classifieds site) for 100.00 from someone that just needed it gone for renovations.

Very nice catch then. Because those can be very expensive!

 

Totally Drashna, forgot to mention it but already have a 5in3 icydock ;)

Had to saw the box to fit it in, but that's really a great thing those boxes.

Will certainly have another one soon...

Okay, good. Just wanted to make sure.

Sorry to hear that you had to take a saw to it to get it to fit. But yeah, those backplanes can be a very tight fit some times!


  • Antoineki likes this

Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#22 otispresley

otispresley

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts
  • LocationApex, NC

Posted 02 July 2013 - 09:15 PM

I have had my setup for a while, but it works really well:

 

Chassis: Norco 4220

Power Supply: Corsair 750W

Motherboard: Asus KCMA-D8

Processor: AMD Opteron 4180 x2

Memory: Kingston DDR3 1333 8GB Kit x4

Add-On: PIKE 2008

Add-On: iKVM

Add-On: LSI 4 port mini-SAS

Operating System: ESXi 5.1

OS Drive: 60GB OCZ Agility 2

VM Drives: 240GB OCZ Agility 3 x3 (RAID 0)

VM Backup Drive: Samsung 1TB in a dual USB dock

DrivePool VM: WHS2011

DrivePool Drives: Seagate 3TB x14 (RDM to WHS2011 VM)

DrivePool Drives: Hitachi 2TB x6 (RDM to WHS2011 VM)

 

Other Services on VMs: Web, TeamSpeak server and music, MySQL (For XBMC and Web), DNS, DHCP, TACACS+/RADIUS, Fault Management, MRTG, Unified Communications



#23 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 04 July 2013 - 02:55 AM

@otispresley: nice setup, looks similar to mine (at least in services).  For the "fault management, MRTG, and Unified Communications", what software are you using?


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#24 otispresley

otispresley

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts
  • LocationApex, NC

Posted 04 July 2013 - 01:28 PM

@drashna, for right now, I am using an evaluation copy of Cisco Prime Infrastructure for fault management of my Cisco router, switches, and AP, as well as a friends' gear across a VPN tunnel.  I have used Nagios for this in the past though, since you can monitor just about anything with it.  I just have MRTG installed so I can see the utilization of my router interfaces in a web page; it uses SNMP to gather the data.  For Unified Communications, I am using Elastix because it is pretty easy as far as an all-in-one solution goes.  It has a pretty nice admin interface, uses Asterisk for phone, OpenFire for IM and presence, uses Postfix for POP/IMAP email and Roundcube for webmail.  There are also some add-ins that can be installed to extend functionality.  I have one installed that provides web conferencing services.



#25 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 04 July 2013 - 06:36 PM

Awesome, thanks for taking the time to reply with all the information!

And looks like an awesome setup.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#26 ctopherc

ctopherc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 11 November 2013 - 03:31 AM

Here is my configuration along with a custom built rack.

Server
iStarUSA D-412S3-MATX 4U Rackmount microATX Server Chassis
Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge 3.5GHz (3.9GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core
Intel Media DQ77MK Desktop MB, Intel Q77 Express Chipset, w/TPM
Corsair Vengeance LP 32GB (4 x 8GB) 240-Pin SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Intel 80GB 330 Series Maple Crest SSD
Antec EarthWatts Green EA-380D, 380W
Noctua Ultra Silent CPU Cooler Cooling NH-U9B SE2
3x Noctua NF-R8 PWM 80mm Case Fan
LSI 9200-8e SASController Card, 2 x SFF-8088 mini-SAS External Connectors, JBOD only
Windows Server Essentials 2012 R2
Stablebit DrivePool v2.1.1.561
Stablebit Scanner v2.5.1.3062
IHomeServer v3.1.76.0 (iTunes 12.1.2.27) feeding 2x AppleTV 3
Crashplan


Array
NORCO DS-24E 24-3.5" JBOD Enclosure

Pooled Drives - 59.2TB
2x 8TB Seagate Archive HDD
1x 6.0TB WD Red
1x 4.0TB WD Red
7x 3.0TB WD Red
5x 2.0TB WD Green
1x 2.5TB WD Green
3x 1.5TB Seagate
1x 1TB WD Green
Non-Pooled drive
1x 1TB WD Green - OS Backup drive

UTM
ARK IPC-1.5U1525 Black 1U Rackmount Server Case
Intel S1200KP Mini ITX Server Motherboard LGA 1155 Intel C206 BIOS
Intel Core i3-2120T Sandy Bridge 2.6GHz, 35W Dual-Core
Stock Intel cooler
Noctua 60x25mm A-Series Blades with AAO Frame, SSO2 Bearing Premium Fan
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Intel 60GB 330 Series Maple Crest SSD
100gb 2.5 HD
Intel Dual Port Pro 1000 PCIe NIC
picoPSU-160-XT, 160w output, 12v input DC-DC Power Supply
Ubiquiti Networks Unifi UAP-Pro Enterprise Dual Band AP
Untangle v11.2

Dell PowerConnect 2824 24port GB managed switch
Dell PowerConnect 2724 24port GB managed switch

VMware ESXi 5.5 Home Lab server
ARK 1U125 Black 1U Rackmount server case
Supermicro A1SAi-2750 mini ITX MB
Supermicro PWS-203-1h 200W 80 Plus Gold
Intel Atom C2750 2.4GHz Avoton 8 core CPU
32gb Kingston DDR3 1600 ECC memory
LeefSupra 16gb USB 3.0 flash drive
1x 480gb Intel S3500 SSD
2x 240gb Seagate 600 Pro SSD (200gb)
1x 128gb Samsung 810 SSD (cache)
1x 64gb Intel 330 SSD (cache)

APC Smart UPS SMT1500RM2U 1000W 2U rackmount


Ctopher

Attached Thumbnails

  • Updated Rack Front.jpg
  • Updated Rack Back.jpg

  • Christopher (Drashna) likes this

#27 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 11 November 2013 - 11:43 PM

ctopher,

 

That's a very nice setup!

 

One quick question (loaded as it may be):
IF the Apple TV 3's are jailbroken (or at least capable of it), have you considered using XBMC on them? And maybe using mySQL on your server to sync their libraries?


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#28 ctopherc

ctopherc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 13 November 2013 - 02:00 AM

drashna,
I had a jail broken AppleTV 2 and had a horrible experience with it. Lots of crashes with it and XBMC. I've gotten to a point that I want my devices to work and not have to work constantly to use them. My configuration works flawlessly with iHomeServer, which is key to running a large iTunes installation. I will admit that there was a initial learning curve but once you move past it there is very little up keep needed.

Having all my media consolidated under iTunes is nice. I have all the iPads and iPhones doing nightly backups and a easy point to sync any movies, tv shows or music on them. Additionally it's a central location for having CrashPlan to backup my media.

#29 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 13 November 2013 - 06:51 AM

Stability is definitely an important thing. No good if you have to fight with it every five minutes. 

Though, I'm using XBMC on Windows, using AMD APU systems.

That, .... and I avoid all things Apple when I can. I'm not a fan would be an understatement. But it looks like you have a solution that works very well and that you like. And there is a lot to be said about that. :)


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#30 lee1978

lee1978

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 199 posts

Posted 30 December 2014 - 12:23 PM

Any chance we can get some more setup's on here with pics it's nice to see what people have and is great info for those upgrading.

#31 RobbieH

RobbieH

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

Posted 17 January 2015 - 12:48 AM

Since you asked, I'll add to the thread even though it is not a rack mount system. 

 

Case - Rosewill Blackbone - http://www.amazon.co...e/dp/B004A9XB6W

PSU - Seasonic 80+ Platinum 460w, fanless (I wanted as low power use as I could get)

CPU - AMD Athlon II X4 610e, 45w TPD  Had to upgrade last week, now is a Phenom II X6 1090T, more on that at the end of post.

Cooler - I don't remember, I built this thing several years ago. It's huge and the giant fan is quiet.

Memory - 8GB (I don't really care about brands, it's Corsair though I think)

OS - WHS 2011

NICs - using an Intel Pro gigabit for the network, onboard Realtek gigabit for video cameras

Drives:

1x Hitachi 500GB boot drive

1x WDS WD5000AAKS - boot backup drive, and yes it's PATA

2x Samsung ST32000542AS 2GB

1x WD WD30EZRX 3GB (Yes, that's a green drive, and it's been solid as a rock)

1X ST3000DM001 3GB (yes it's been replaced once)

 

No, it's nothing special, but it works for what I'm running on it.

MediaBrowser Server 3

BlueIris 4 controlling 8 3MP cameras

Plex

Subsonic Server

SabNZB

SickRage

CouchPotato

 

And of course, DrivePool and Stablebit Scanner.

 

BlueIris is quite the processor hog, even with everything optimized to be as efficient as possible. I was having some CPU overload issues when SabNZB went to unpack files, so I upgraded the processor.

 

My plan in the near future is to build a second server, run ESXi, and start working with some of the open source data center tools. I have a long IT background, but moved into IT security audit about 3.5 years ago. My home stuff is the only thing that keeps me hands-on current. This server will get the 610e back, remain my disk space server, and will most likely keep BlueIris until I add so many cameras that it can't keep up. 

 

New server is going to be an i7 4790 based system on an ASRock Z87 Extreme6 board. Gobs of memory, ESXi, and solid state drive.

 

I won't go into all the network gear, but it is all enterprise stuff - lots of APs (long 1954 ranch style house dictates it), Juniper gear throughout, etc. Cameras and some of the APs are PoE, you get the idea.


  • Christopher (Drashna) likes this

#32 Ryo

Ryo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 251 posts

Posted 17 January 2015 - 04:35 PM

have you considered a Xeon for a server im building mine with a Xeon 1246 V3 for 273.99 for the cpu and a gigabyte micro mobo for Ga-z97-Mx gaming 5 mobo with 3 pci 16 slots u can get that board and xeon chip for roughly 400..



also consider the fractal design Node 804 if you are willing to go micro atx .... this case can easily support 10 3.5 inch hdd 2 2.5 inch HDD and a slot load dvd drive. I own it and love it.



im running my home server with 3 1TB drives for now... and looking at some 6 TB drives also using win 8.1 pro as my os for now with drivepool ....this machine rocks with my phenom and when I get my xeon next month there will be no stopping it...



#33 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 17 January 2015 - 11:20 PM

BlueIris is quite the processor hog, even with everything optimized to be as efficient as possible. I was having some CPU overload issues when SabNZB went to unpack files, so I upgraded the processor.

 

 

 

New server is going to be an i7 4790 based system on an ASRock Z87 Extreme6 board. Gobs of memory, ESXi, and solid state drive.

 

I won't go into all the network gear, but it is all enterprise stuff - lots of APs (long 1954 ranch style house dictates it), Juniper gear throughout, etc. Cameras and some of the APs are PoE, you get the idea.

Yeah, BlueIris is a CPU hog. Even without using HD cameras.

I've found that it's better to run it on a dedicate system (or even in a VM...) to help curb it's CPU usage.

 

As for the hardware, a Xeon and a server board (SuperMicro or ASRock RACK) may be a better buy. But that's personal preference. 


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#34 RobbieH

RobbieH

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

Posted 22 January 2015 - 10:37 PM

Yeah, that's why I am considering a second server with VMs. 

 

I've read a lot about the SuperMicro boards and machines. I used to use a lot of SuperMicro machines back when I was still in operations (I moved to Information Security, then to IS Audit a few years back) but haven't really considered them for home use. I know a bunch of the HTPC server backend guys use them.

 

There are some fairly cheap rigs out there that would be great for BlueIris, I am just reluctant to throw such a good PC into service just for BlueIris. Yes, I can build one cheap enough but there are some pretty fantastic pre-built systems out there for around $500.



#35 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 24 January 2015 - 08:24 PM

Well, I have a supermicro X10SAT and am very happy with it. ;)

 

As for BlueIris, a core i3 could work, depending on what you're using for the cameras. 

Or by a barebone ThinkServe (lenovo/IBM) for cheap and set that up as a dedicated blueiris box. :)


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#36 RobbieH

RobbieH

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

Posted 26 January 2015 - 06:02 PM

BlueIris recommends i7, I know in my case I'd kill an i3. 

 

6 of these: http://www.hikvision...how.asp?id=9798

I just received a 7th. 

 

2 of these: http://www.hikvision...how.asp?id=9118



#37 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 26 January 2015 - 07:38 PM

I'm using an A8, I think and haven't been maxing the CPU at all. And the same with my Xeon (stats why is very similar to the i7-4770).

 

However, I'm using the "Direct to disk" method and not converting the files (you can do that later).

So it really depends on the number of cameras you're using, the quality and if you're transcoding the files).

 

But yes, best bet is to overshoot on hardware, that way you have room to grow, if needed.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#38 RobbieH

RobbieH

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts

Posted 29 January 2015 - 11:45 PM

I'm doing Direct to Disk too, it really helped. 



#39 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 03 February 2015 - 08:29 AM

I'm doing Direct to Disk too, it really helped. 

It definitely does. And you can "export" to different formats if needed. IIRC.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#40 bissquitt

bissquitt

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 19 June 2015 - 10:11 PM

attachicon.gifimage.jpgHere is my configuration along with a custom built rack.

Server
iStarUSA D-412S3-MATX 4U Rackmount microATX Server Chassis
Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge 3.5GHz (3.9GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core
Intel Media DQ77MK Desktop MB, Intel Q77 Express Chipset, w/TPM
Corsair Vengeance LP 32GB (4 x 8GB) 240-Pin SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Intel 80GB 330 Series Maple Crest SSD
Antec EarthWatts Green EA-380D, 380W
Noctua Ultra Silent CPU Cooler Cooling NH-U9B SE2
3x Noctua NF-R8 PWM 80mm Case Fan
LSI 9200-8e SASController Card, 2 x SFF-8088 mini-SAS External Connectors, JBOD only
Windows Server Essentials 2012 R2
Stablebit DrivePool v2.1.1.561
Stablebit Scanner v2.5.1.3062
IHomeServer v3.1.73.0 (iTunes 12.0.1.26) feeding 3x AppleTV 3
Crashplan


Array
NORCO DS-24E 24-3.5" JBOD Enclosure

Pooled Drives - 39.1TB

1x 4.0TB WD Red

7x 3.0TB WD Red
5x 2.0TB WD Green

1x 2.5TB WD Green

3x 1.5TB Seagate

1x 1TB WD Green

Non-Pooled drive
1x 1TB WD Green - OS Backup drive

UTM
ARK IPC-1.5U1525 Black 1U Rackmount Server Case
Intel S1200KP Mini ITX Server Motherboard LGA 1155 Intel C206 BIOS
Intel Core i3-2120T Sandy Bridge 2.6GHz, 35W Dual-Core
Stock Intel cooler
Noctua 60x25mm A-Series Blades with AAO Frame, SSO2 Bearing Premium Fan
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Intel 60GB 330 Series Maple Crest SSD

100gb 2.5 HD
Intel Dual Port Pro 1000 PCIe NIC
picoPSU-160-XT, 160w output, 12v input DC-DC Power Supply
Ubiquiti Networks Unifi UAP-Pro Enterprise Dual Band AP
Untangle v10
 

Dell PowerConnect 2824 24port GB managed switch

Dell PowerConnect 2724 24port GB managed switch

 

VMware ESXi 5.5 Home Lab server

ARK 1U125 Black 1U Rackmount server case

Supermicro A1SAi-2750 mini ITX MB

Supermicro PWS-203-1h 200W 80 Plus Gold

Intel Atom C2750 2.4GHz Avoton 8 core CPU

32gb Kingston DDR3 1600 ECC memory

LeefSupra 16gb USB 3.0 flash drive

1x 480gb Intel S3500 SSD

2x 240gb Seagate 600 Pro SSD (200gb 

1x 128gb Samsung 810 SSD (cache)

1x 64gb Intel 330 SSD

 

APC Smart UPS SMT1500RM2U 1000W 2U rackmount

 

*Updated with new hardware/software additions

Ctopher

What rack is that? Been looking for a nice short 4 post rack for my gear






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users