Jump to content

  • Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Photo

My Rackmount Server


  • Please log in to reply
94 replies to this topic

#1 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,628 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 26 May 2013 - 06:00 AM

To get this started apparently:

 

My server was kind of piecemeal constructed.

 

 

I recently purchased a 42U HP Rack from a local company (via Craigslist), for super cheap ($50, so literally couldn't pass it up)

 

Sophos UTM (Home): 

Case: Antec ISK 110 VESA case,

Mobo (SoC): ASRock RACK J1900D2Y

RAM: 4GB of non-ECC RAM

OS Drive: Samsung 850 Pro 120GB SSD 

 

 

Storage Server:

Case: SuperMicro 847E26-R1K28LPB

OS: Windows Server 2012R2 Essentials

CPU: AMD FX-8120  Intel Xeon E3 1245v3 (link)

MoBo: ASRock 990FX Extreme3  Supermicro MBD-X10SAT-O (link)

RAM: 2x8GB Crucial ECC

GFX: nVidia geForce 9400  Intel HD 4600 (on processor GFX)

PSU: Built in, 2x redundant power supplies (1280W 80+ Gold) 

OS Drive: Crucial MX200 256GB SSD

Storage Pool: 131TB:  4x 4TB (Seagate NAS ST4000VN000) + 8x 4TB (WD40EFRX) + 12x 8TB Seagate Archive (ST8000AS0002). 2x 128GB OCZ Vertex 4s

Misc Storage: 2TB (Seagate ST2000DM001) - used temp files (downloads)

HDD Controller card: IBM ServeRAID M1015, cross flashed to "IR Mode" (RAID options, used to pass through disks only), plus an Intel SAS Expander card 

USB: 2TB Seagate Backup Plus for Server Backup (system drive, and system files) using a WD Green EARS 

 

 

NVR (Network Video Record, aka IP camera box) via BlueIris:

Case: Norco ITX-S4 

OS: Windows 10

CPU: Intel Core i3-4130T

MoBo: ASRock Rack E3C226D2I 

RAM: 2x8GB G.Skill 

GFX: ASPEED 2300

PSU: 450W 1U 

OS Drive: 128GB SSD, Crucial M550

Storage Pool: 2x4TB Toshiba HDD

 

HyperV VM Lab:

Case: Supermicro SYS-6016T-NTF (1U case) 

OS: HyperV Server 2012R2

CPU: Intel Xeon 5560  (x2, hyperthreading disabled)

MoBo: Supermicro X8DTU 

RAM: 64GBs (8x8GB) Hynix Registered ECC (DDR3-1333)

GFX: ASPEED 2300

PSU: 560W 1U 

OS Drive: 160GB HDD 

Storage: 500GB Crucial MX200 SSD, using Data Deduplication for VMs

 

 

Emby Server: 

Case: Unknown (1U case) 

OS: Windows 10 Pro x64

CPU: Dual Intel Xeon x5660's (hardware fairy swung by)

MoBo: Supermicro X8DTi 

RAM: 20GB (5x4GB) Samsung Registered ECC

GFX: Matrox (Onboard)

PSU: 560W 1U 

OS Drive: 64GB SSD,

Storage: 128GB  (cache, metadata, transcoding temp) 

 

 

Netgear GS724T Smart Switch

24 port, Gigabit, Managed Switch (one port is burned out already, but it was used). 

 

 

Dell 17" keyboard and monitor tray (used, damaged, propped up). 

 

Images here: http://imgur.com/a/WRhZf

 

 

8zIjiOu.jpg

Here is my network hardware.  Not a great image, but that's the 24 port, managed switch, a punchout block, waaay too long cables, cable modem and Sophos UTM box.

 

D2ipgDU.jpg

Misc drawers and unused spares. 

 

uCBdIWA.jpg

 

And my servers. HyperV system in the 1U, and my storage server in the 4U. And the Cyberpower UPS at the bottom. 

 

What you don't see is the NVR box, as it's been having issues, and I've been troubleshooting those issues. 


Edited by Christopher (Drashna), 23 April 2017 - 09:05 PM.

  • KiaraEvirm, Antoineki and MvL like this

Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#2 Doug

Doug

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 63 posts
  • LocationUSA

Posted 26 May 2013 - 08:31 AM

I have a Norco 4224v1 4U case.

 

CPU: Intel i3-530

MoBo: HP ProLiant ML110 G6

RAM: 4x2GB CORSAIR Vengeance

GFX: Onboard

OS Drive: 180GB SSD, Intel 335 Series (WHS 2011)

Storage Pool: 13x2TB (Seagate ST2000DM001)

HDD Controller card: HighPoint RocketRAID 2760 (All drives connected to controller)

3TB Seagate ST3000DM001 for Server Backup (system drive, and system files) / Client Backups

Drivepool / Scanner

 


  • Christopher (Drashna) likes this

#3 weezywee

weezywee

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts

Posted 26 May 2013 - 01:24 PM

Case: Norco RPC-4224
Motherboard: Supermicro X9SAE-V
CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1245V2
RAM: 32GB Kingston
OS Drive: 60GB Intel 330 Series SSD
VM Drive: 240GB Intel 330 Series SSD
OS Backup Drive: 250GB WD
HBA & SAS Expander: M1015(flashed to LSI 9211-8i) & HP SAS Expander
Storage Pool: 7 3TB WD, 6 Green & 1 Red

I have my entire pool duplicated and I'm currently using about 13.5TB, I just add drives as I need more storage. I've started buying WD Reds instead of greens and I used WDIdle on the green drives to change the head parking from 8 seconds to 5 minutes.

 

4224.JPG


  • Alex and Christopher (Drashna) like this

#4 Alex

Alex

    Lead Programmer

  • Administrators
  • 242 posts
  • LocationNew York, USA

Posted 26 May 2013 - 09:08 PM

Can we see some pictures ;)



#5 Codegear

Codegear

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • LocationMontral, Canada

Posted 27 May 2013 - 03:33 AM

Physical ESXi 5.1u1 host
- Gigabyte 990FXA-UD5 motherboard
- AMD Phenon II X6 1090T @ 3.2GHz
- 16GB RAM
- 1 Hitachi 7K3000 2TB HDD
- 7 Hitachi 5K3000 2TB HDDs (accessed by WSE 2012 as RDM disks and totally allocated to DrivePool)
 
Windows Server 2012 Essentials (WSE 2012) Virtual Machine
- Allocated 4 vCPU and 8GB RAM
- WSE 2012 (latest Windows Updates)
- DrivePool 2.0.0.260 (beta)
- All 7x 5K3000 disks are dedicated to WSE 2012 for DrivePool thru RDM disks
 
NOTE: Virtualization does not put a significant overhead in performance but allows smooth upgrades between platforms - Migrated from WHS 2011 to WSE 2012 and only had to reassign disks from one virtual machine to another.  Voil!
 
For full story based on WHS 2011, see http://forum.covecub...809#Comment_809

  • Christopher (Drashna) likes this

#6 Alex

Alex

    Lead Programmer

  • Administrators
  • 242 posts
  • LocationNew York, USA

Posted 27 May 2013 - 10:28 PM

@weezywee

 

Very cool.

 

That APC box looks familiar (I think).

 

I have a APC UPS that I've hacked to use 4x deep cycle marine batteries to provide 3 to 4 hours backup for my entire office (instead of the built in Li-Ion which would only last 15 min.).


  • Christopher (Drashna) and Shane like this

#7 Pl Andreassen

Pl Andreassen

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts

Posted 28 May 2013 - 12:55 PM

 

Physical ESXi 5.1u1 host
- Gigabyte 990FXA-UD5 motherboard
- AMD Phenon II X6 1090T @ 3.2GHz
- 16GB RAM
- 1 Hitachi 7K3000 2TB HDD
- 7 Hitachi 5K3000 2TB HDDs (accessed by WSE 2012 as RDM disks and totally allocated to DrivePool)
 
Windows Server 2012 Essentials (WSE 2012) Virtual Machine
- Allocated 4 vCPU and 8GB RAM
- WSE 2012 (latest Windows Updates)
- DrivePool 2.0.0.260 (beta)
- All 7x 5K3000 disks are dedicated to WSE 2012 for DrivePool thru RDM disks
 
NOTE: Virtualization does not put a significant overhead in performance but allows smooth upgrades between platforms - Migrated from WHS 2011 to WSE 2012 and only had to reassign disks from one virtual machine to another.  Voil!
 
For full story based on WHS 2011, see http://forum.covecub...809#Comment_809

 

 

I'm running ESXi 5.1 u1 on a GA-990FXA-UD3 motherboard with a AMD FX-8150 processor. I'm unable to enable IO passthough in ESXi. All it says is that the host does not support passthough configuration. According to other posts I've seen the GA-990FXA-UD3 does support IOMMU (what ever that is) that is required for pass though. Any thoughts?



#8 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,628 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 28 May 2013 - 07:26 PM

I think that line of AMD processors is missing a feature to enable the IO passthrough. Because I have a 8120 and I'm unable to enable RemoteFX for HyperV, which is related to that IO passthrough, I believe. (GPU passthrough for RemoteFX, as well as other IO stuff).


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#9 Pl Andreassen

Pl Andreassen

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts

Posted 29 May 2013 - 09:13 AM

According to this spec-sheet: http://www.comx-comp...tions-57358.htm

the CPU has IOMMU support. And so does the mother board according to misc web sites.



#10 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,628 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 29 May 2013 - 06:50 PM

I think it's missing some other feature in the CPUs architecture. Other than that, I can't really find any information about that it either. It is frustrating. 


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#11 Codegear

Codegear

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • LocationMontral, Canada

Posted 30 May 2013 - 01:47 AM

@Pl Andreassen and drashna

 

It turned out I had the same problem with my 990FXA-UD5 board - this is what I first thought...

 

The "old" videocard (add-on) I have installed was preventing the I/O passthru.  I discovered this fact after forgetting to put back the videocard :)

 

Just as a safety, even if I only access the ESXi remotely using ESXi vSphere Client, I installed a "GIGABYTE Radeon HD 6450 Silent 1GB DDR3" and the I/O Passthru function as expected.

 

My two ESXi systems support I/O Passthru while powered with different processor generations: AMD 1090T and AMD FX8350.

 

Your FX8150/990FXA-UD3 should act the same.



#12 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,628 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 30 May 2013 - 03:28 AM

If that's the case, then it would definitely be a gfx card issue (at least for my issue). Thanks.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#13 Philmatic

Philmatic

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts

Posted 30 May 2013 - 06:47 PM

Norco 4224/X9SCM/i3 2100t/WHS 2011

Builds Name: WHS 2011
Operating System/Storage Platform: Windows Home Server 2011/StableBit DrivePool v2.0.0.260 BETA

CPU: Intel Core i3-2100T Sandy Bridge 2.5GHz LGA 1155 35W Dual-Core Desktop Processor
Motherboard: Supermicro X9SCM-F
Chassis: Norco RPC-4224
Drives: 4x WDC WD5000AAKS 500GB, 4x WDC WD10EACS 1TB, 4x WDC WD20EADS 2TB, 2x WDC WD20EARS 2TB, 2x WDC WD20EARX 2TB, 4x HGST DT01ACA300 3TB

RAM: 2x Kingston ValueRAM 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM ECC Unbuffered Server Memory
Add-in Cards: 3x IBM M1015 running in IT mode (P11)
Power Supply: SeaSonic X750 750W 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply
Other Bits: 6x Monoprice 1m 30AWG Internal Mini-SAS 36pin cables (SFF-8087), 3x Scythe SY1225SL12M 120mm "Slipstream" (Firewall), 2x MASSCOOL FD08025S1M4 80mm Case Fan (Exhaust)

Usage Profile: Backing up my two desktops, two HTPCs and three laptops, serving media (Movies, TV Shows, Music, Photos and home videos) to my three XBMC instances and serving as my Usenet and Torrent (SABnzbd and uTorrent) downloading station.

Other information: Running DrivePool v2.0.0.260 BETA to provide folder pooling and duplication for a neutered WHS 2011.

 

Pics to follow, I can't seem to find them at this time.

 



#14 Dane

Dane

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 30 posts

Posted 30 May 2013 - 09:31 PM

Updated to current specs, wife thinks it is a small upgrade...nope, huge one, to me anyways  lol   April 24 2014

20140424_142034_Richtone(HDR).jpg

 

(2012 R2 Hyper-V)

Case: Chenbro RM31408 Modified to use standard atx power supply (tripple redundancy was nice but used 50 watts more power just for it)

Motherboard: ASUS P8B-E/4L Z9PE-D16 (upgrade)

CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1245v2 E5-2630v2 x 2 (upgrade)
RAM: 32 64GB Kingston ECC Unbuffered (upgrade)
OS Drive: 500GB WD Black
VM Drives: 4 x 1TB WD RE4 in Raid 10

iCydock MB994SB-4SB-1 4 bay 2.5" raid cage (new)

Drive Pool feeder drives: Kingston 120GB SSD x 2 (new)

HBA: Onboard raid (2 Dell H310's on the way) (new)

HBA & SAS Expander: LSI 9240-4i & Intel RES2SV240 SAS Expander (Link to Drive case)

 

Case: Norco RPC-4220 (Drive case)

DrivePool Drives: 6 x 2TB WD Green, 5 x WD 3TB Red

Security Cam Drive: 1x 2TB WD Green

 

(PVR Computer)

Case: Rosewill RSV-R4000

Motherboard: ASUS P8H67M-LE
CPU: Intel I7-3770K
RAM: 8GB Kingston
OS Drive: 500GB WD
OS: Win7

 

Network Switches: HP Procurve 1800-24g (J9028B) x 2, 4 ports on each switch dedicated for a 4Gbit trunk between them (upgraded from single HP Procurve 1400-24g non-managed)


  • Valdimarsson likes this

#15 DrParis

DrParis

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts
  • LocationFrance

Posted 31 May 2013 - 06:07 PM

Hi there,

 

For me it is that:

  • Cooler Master Stryker
  • Seasonic G-650
  • ASRock Fatal1ty Z77 Professional
  • Intel Core i7 3770S
  • DDR3 Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 2x8GB PC3-12800 CAS8
  • Ventirad Thermalright True Spirit 140
  • INTEL Cherryville 520 Series 240GB (for the OS and VMs)
  • Western Digital Black 750GB (feeder in DP)
  • WD Red 3TB x 2 , Green 3TB x 1 (archives in DP)


#16 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,628 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 31 May 2013 - 10:41 PM

@Dane: I'm jealous! I really do need to get a rack for my hardware. And that looks very nice. 

Though, considering I don't really have a huge budget at the moment, I may end up getting some "ikea racks". :)

 

Though, alex still needs to post his UPS battery hack. :)

 

@DrParis:  That's a very nice case for airflow, and a lot of HDD space. I have a couple of friends with the older versions of that case. 

Oh, and I'd recommend getting some backplanes later no for that case. So you can cram more drives in. Such as these:

http://www.icydock.com/goods.php?id=48


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#17 lee1978

lee1978

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 187 posts

Posted 02 June 2013 - 12:28 PM

This is my setup:

 

Rackmount KVM:

  • ServView 17 Enterprise 16 port KVM

Switch:

  • Netgear ProSafe 24Port G/bit switch JGS524

UPS:

  • ​APC Smart UPS 3000

Main Computer:

  • ​RM206 Pro 2U
  • Asus Crosshair VI Hero
  • Amd Ryzen 1700x

  • 16Gb DDR4 2666Mhz HyperX

  • Noctua NH-L9a Low Profile Cooler​  Corsair H5 SFF

  • AMD R9 Nano

  • Samsung 960 EVO M.2 250GB

  • Samsung Evo 250GB Sata3 SSD

  • 3TB Toshiba Storage Drive

  • 1000 2U Psu 80+ Gold
  • 1x Dell Touchscreen 19" 1080p ​ 1X LG 34" 21.9 UltraWide
  • 2x Acer 19" 1080p
  • Windows 10 PRO

Server:

  • RM208 Pro 2U
  • Asus F2A85-V Pro
  • Amd A10 5800k APU
  • 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz GSkill
  • Lsi Logic 9207-4i4e
  • Hp Nc360T PCI Express Dual Port
  • Samsung 840 EVO 250GB sata3
  • 1x 500GB WD Green (Server Backup Drive)
  • 700w Corsair PSU 80+ Gold
  • Windows Server 2012 R2
  • StableBit Drivepool/Scanner
  • Crashplan
  • Itunes
  • IhomeServer
  • LightsOut
  • Bittorrent

Server CCTV/Virtual​:

 

  • RM208 Pro 2U
  • No idea yet working on it

 

Server Array:

  • RM424-EX Pro 24 Bay With Expander Backplane
  • 850W Corsair PSU 80+ gold
  • 10x 2TB Wd Greens
  • 10x 3TB Wd Greens
  • 2 x 3TB Wd Red's
  • 1 x 4TB Wd Red

 

Media Streamers:

  • 7X ACryan Mini2 (The WDTV's are also really good if anything have a better menu system and better community support)

 

Ethernet/Wireless/Broadband:

  • Whole house has CAT 6 Running to each room
  • Virgin Media 200MB Gamer Broadband
  • Virgin Media Super HUB 3
  • Apple AirPlay

So that's it for now always tweaking it lol

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_3558.JPG
  • IMG_3605.JPG
  • IMG_3647.JPG
  • IMG_3648.JPG


#18 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,628 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 03 June 2013 - 11:37 AM

@Lee1978: Very nice setup.  That Chenbro expander looks very nice. :)

 

As for attaching images, use the "More Reply Options". It gives a much more "full" editor, and is easier to attach images.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#19 Dane

Dane

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 30 posts

Posted 04 June 2013 - 04:58 AM

@drashna: Thanks, and the rack I actually got off kijiji (classifieds site) for 100.00 from someone that just needed it gone for renovations.



#20 DrParis

DrParis

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts
  • LocationFrance

Posted 04 June 2013 - 10:01 PM

@DrParis:  That's a very nice case for airflow, and a lot of HDD space. I have a couple of friends with the older versions of that case. 

Oh, and I'd recommend getting some backplanes later no for that case. So you can cram more drives in. Such as these:

http://www.icydock.com/goods.php?id=48

 

Totally Drashna, forgot to mention it but already have a 5in3 icydock ;)

Had to saw the box to fit it in, but that's really a great thing those boxes.

Will certainly have another one soon...






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users