Jump to content

  • Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Photo

Quick Question: Clone cache drive possible?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 jeraziah

jeraziah

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 11 August 2017 - 10:12 AM

Is it possible to clone the cache drive? I made a horrible mistake and would like to move the cache drive to another disk.

I have 300+GB left to upload on a 2TB Seagate FireCuda disk. The drive performs so bad that nothing else is possible while clouddrive is using it.

 

Can I clone the drive/partition on to a 500GB SSD or will this cause problems?

 



#2 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,976 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 11 August 2017 - 10:19 AM

Honestly, I'm not 100% sure, and I'll have to ask.

 

that said, I suspect that this should would.  Just uninstall the software prior to cloning the drive, remove the original drive once the clone is complete, and then reinstall the software.  It should handle things from there.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#3 jeraziah

jeraziah

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 11 August 2017 - 10:25 AM

What do you mean by uninstalling the software? The reason why I want to clone it is because of the 300GB left to upload.

My plan was to shutdown the system, remove the 2TB cache disk, clone it on the SSD, install the SSD in the system and power it back up.

 

If there was nothing left to upload, I would detach the cloud drive, swap the HDD with the SSD and attach it again.



#4 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,976 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 11 August 2017 - 10:57 AM

That would work too.  

 

Also, so would shutting down the service. 

 

 

The reason I mentioned uninstalling, was that the disk needs to not be "in use" when the cloning happens, or ... it won't happen (or at least not properly).   If you're doing this "offline", which it sounds like you're doing, then you should be fine with what you have planned.

 

You may need to reauthorize the drive, but that should be it, I believe. 


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#5 jeraziah

jeraziah

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 11 August 2017 - 12:27 PM

Perfect. I'll try it tonight and let you know if it worked. I guess in the worst case I can plug the 2TB drive back in and wait until it finished uploading.



#6 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,976 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 11 August 2017 - 06:48 PM

Sounds like a plan.

 

And yup, exactly.

 

Either way, let me know how things go.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#7 jeraziah

jeraziah

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 12 August 2017 - 06:23 AM

It worked without a problem. I used Macrium Reflect Free to the clone the disk.

Before I cloned it I shrunk the partition of the 2TB drive to ~700GB, cloned it onto the SSD and expanded the partition. Cloud Drive worked immediately with the new drive.



#8 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,976 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 12 August 2017 - 10:52 AM

Awesome, and glad to hear it!

 

And good to know that this definitely works.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#9 jeraziah

jeraziah

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 12 August 2017 - 12:26 PM

looks like this SSHD is not compatible with CloudDrive and DrivePool:

Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5 inch (ST2000LX001)

 

I got 5 of them and the plan was to use one as cache disk for clouddrive and 4 with DrivePool for userdata. The perfomance with CloudDrive was so bad that (1-6MB/sec) I replaced it now with the 1TB SSD.

Today I've setup the DrivePool with 4 of them but almost the same experience... 11MB/sec max transferspeed with 2x duplication. If I attach one of them with a USB3 (UASP) case I get 90-110MB/sec. Guess i'll return them all.



#10 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,976 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 12 August 2017 - 07:37 PM

Well, with StableBit CloudDrive, I can understand that. The caching we do may cause issues with their internal caching algorithms.

 

 

But for DrivePool to have performance issues with them is very odd.

 

Before returning them, I'd like to see if we can troubleshoot a bit first.  That way, you don't have to go through the trouble of returning the drives.

 

Specifically, try installing this version:

http://dl.covecube.c...98_x64_BETA.exe

 

There are a whole bunch of bug fixes and performance tweaks that may solve the problem outright (with the pool at least).

 

If that doesn't help, enable file system logging, and reproduce the issue. Upload the logs once you've done that.

http://wiki.covecube..._Log_Collection

 

 

Also, run this:

http://wiki.covecube..._Troubleshooter


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users