Jump to content

  • Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Photo

Remote Access


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 photoguy

photoguy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 07 July 2017 - 05:01 AM

If I build a Windows 10 Professional Server and it is connected to my Wifi network, what software or hardware do I need to add in order to access the files stored on the server from outside my home?  And what do I need in order to upload or download to/from the server.  I am a photographer and want to be able to access photos and to upload photos from a variety of locations if I can get on the internet.


  • Antoineki likes this

#2 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 08 July 2017 - 12:52 AM

Well, there are bunch of ways to do this.

 

The simplest may be to use: 

 

  • SeaFile, and set that up. 
  • SFTP or FTPS

 

 

That said, a simpler method may be to use Windows Server 2016 Essentials, as it does have a remote access website designed for uploading and downloading files.   (though it's hosted on your internet connection). 

 

Otherwise, it gets more complicated. 


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#3 HellDiverUK

HellDiverUK

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 09 July 2017 - 09:33 PM

If you're using a laptop "outside", then you could set up OpenVPN on your server (or if you have a decent router, on that).  Connect to the VPN and you can work as if you're at home.

 

I do this from work - I have OpenVPN running on my Asus router, and connect in.  I can access everything across the VPN.  As the VPN data is compressed, it's pretty quick.


  • Christopher (Drashna) likes this

Home Server:

E3-1275v3, MSI B85M-Eco, 8GB DDR3-1600, SanDisk 240GB boot, 1xWD50EFRZ, 1xWD80EFZX, 1xWD80EZZX, Server 2012R2, Emby, Sonarr, etc.

 


#4 photoguy

photoguy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 10 July 2017 - 03:42 AM

What do I need to set up the OpenVPN on my Asus router?  Software? Or is it built in the Asus router?



#5 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 11 July 2017 - 12:30 AM

What do I need to set up the OpenVPN on my Asus router?  Software? Or is it built in the Asus router?

 

That depends on the router. 

 

If it has a "L2TP" option built in (not "pass through"), then you could configure this, as well.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users