Jump to content

  • Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Photo

Unreadable first block/sector on WD easystore 8TB or false alarm

damaged sector or false alarm

Best Answer Christopher (Drashna) , 07 June 2017 - 03:49 PM

This is most likely a "bug".  Specifically, some drives ... have some weird issues with how the data is reported.  It causes issues for the surface scan in released versions, unfortunately.

 

Please try this version and rescan: 

http://dl.covecube.c...2.3126_BETA.exe

 

To rescan, double click on the drive in question, click on the fourth button on the left side (with a green circle), and select "mark all as unchecked" (or something like that). 

 

This should complete "properly". 

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 asdaHP

asdaHP

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 41 posts

Posted 06 June 2017 - 04:28 PM

I bought an 8TB WD easystore external HD which has (and yes pretty much everyone knows this) a red drive EFAX (WDC WD80EFAX-68LHPN0). I ran the short and extended tests on HD sentinel and everything was fine.

 

Now when i left it attached to my server which has stablebit scanner, i received an email stating"

One or more disks are damaged and have data on them that is unreadable:

WD easystore 25FB USB Device - 344 KB unreadable (688 sectors) - The rest of the disk is still being scanned

  • Model: WDC WD80EFAX-68LHPN0"

 

When i look at the sectors it is the very first block part of it is which is unreadable (Red color block). I did a file scan and that was normal. EDIT: The rest of the drive on the surface scan checked out completely normal.

 

Given that i didnt find something with HD sentinel, is this potentially a false alarm especially given its the first block? I vaguely remember having a similar issue nearly 9 months back on another external drive and it turned out a false alarm. There was something about using a beta rather than stable version of scanner. I am running currently 2.5.2.3103 beta. I forget what the return policy for BB is and if this is a real issue, id rather return it now than have to setup a warranty with HD.

 

thank you


  • Antoineki likes this

#2 AndrewBucklin

AndrewBucklin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 06 June 2017 - 05:45 PM

I'm curious; did you shuck the drive or is it still in the external enclosure?



#3 asdaHP

asdaHP

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 41 posts

Posted 06 June 2017 - 07:07 PM

Still in external enclosure.



#4 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,196 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 07 June 2017 - 03:49 PM   Best Answer

This is most likely a "bug".  Specifically, some drives ... have some weird issues with how the data is reported.  It causes issues for the surface scan in released versions, unfortunately.

 

Please try this version and rescan: 

http://dl.covecube.c...2.3126_BETA.exe

 

To rescan, double click on the drive in question, click on the fourth button on the left side (with a green circle), and select "mark all as unchecked" (or something like that). 

 

This should complete "properly". 


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#5 asdaHP

asdaHP

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 41 posts

Posted 07 June 2017 - 04:25 PM

This is most likely a "bug".  Specifically, some drives ... have some weird issues with how the data is reported.  It causes issues for the surface scan in released versions, unfortunately.

 

Please try this version and rescan: 

http://dl.covecube.c...2.3126_BETA.exe

 

To rescan, double click on the drive in question, click on the fourth button on the left side (with a green circle), and select "mark all as unchecked" (or something like that). 

 

This should complete "properly". 

Hi @drashna

Thanks. When i tried installing it, message that "The specified account already exists" comes. I went to task manager and stopped scanner and still same result. Must i uninstall the previous beta version 2.5.2.3103 first? Does that cause it lose the info on the other drives? thanks



#6 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,196 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 09 June 2017 - 06:06 PM

Uninstall the software, reboot the system and then reinstall.  

 

That should fix the issue in this case. 


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#7 asdaHP

asdaHP

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 41 posts

Posted 11 June 2017 - 03:32 AM

@drashna

 

Thanks. Yes had to uninstall previous beta version and reinstall the version you sent. Now all sectors are green !! So it was just a bug with previous beta version

 

Curiously this version is an exe file so runs a separate program rather than within the essentials dashboard (i am running windows server 16 essential). Not really an issue as I can constantly run both the dashboard with the drivepool and this file separately. BTW Does the exe file run as a service when the computer boots up or do I have to start it?

 

Uninstall the software, reboot the system and then reinstall.  

 

That should fix the issue in this case. 



#8 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,196 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 11 June 2017 - 07:30 PM

Ah, that would be part of the reason why. then.  If you want the dashboard version, then uninstall and install this version: 

http://dl.covecube.c....3126_BETA.wssx

 

 

And I'm glad to hear that this version fixed the issue.  Specifically, this was the cause: 

 

 

.3109

  • Apply the corrected size / bytes per sector / sector counts to the sector map on each service start.
  • When correcting the size of the drive, also correct the bytes per sector and the sector count, but only if we can validate the last sector.
  • When reading the disk signature from the disk using Direct I/O, use the real bytes per sector. Some drives (like the WD My Passport) will show up, incorrectly, as having 4096 bytes per (virtual) sector.
  • When correcting the total size of the drive, validate the last sector before applying the new size. While this works for most drives, some drives (like the WD My Passport) will report an incorrect size.
  • If a manual scan was started on some disk, then automatic scanning was toggled on, and the disk that was being scanned manually was not scheduled to scan, then the manual scan could not be stopped afterwards. Also, the service would not shut down properly in this state.
.3108
  • [Issue #14557] Added DirectIO_DoNotCorrectSize advanced setting. When set to True, we won't correct the drive size based on the data that we get back from the disk directly. The service will need to be restarted for this to take effect.

Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users