Need help. DP doing exactly the opposite of what it is being told to do!

blueman2

Question

I have been using DP for many years.  Decided to replace a drive recently, and the entire pool just went crazy in terms of where it is putting files!!  

1) I set file placement to put certain files (such as VMs) only on my fast drives.  It promptly put them all on the very slowest drive that I had explicitly excluded!

2) I set it to never put unduplicated files on the large, slow drive.  It promptly started to put all the unduplicated files over on that drive!  

Here are some screen shots.  Starting with VM location, here is what is set:

post-1683-0-23034500-1489204157_thumb.png

Yet after doing this, all VMs were moved to the 8TB drive that I specifically de-selected.  

And here is the selection showing to not put unduplicated files on the 8TB drive.  Yet, the file is now full of them.  

post-1683-0-35014500-1489204399_thumb.png

I did not change anything.  Yet now the balancer is doing the opposite of what it was set for before.  I must be doing something really dumb here!

5 answers to this question

Are the folders in question duplicated? Or unduplicated? 

Also, for the file placement rules, check the "never allow placement on other drives" option

As for the Drive Usage Limiter, the "duplication" doesn't mean the duplicates. It means ANY duplicated data.  Since we don't differentiate between original and copy, this setting affects all of the duplicated data. 

Well, I have continue to battle some very odd issues with DrivePool after years of a stable experience.  It all started when I removed a drive and added a larger replacement.  I have a total of 4 drives:

1) SSD OS drive (no change)

2) 2TB drive (no change)

3) 2TB drive (no change)

4) 8TB drive (replaced an older 1.5TB)