Jump to content

  • Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Photo

Any chance of a Synology package?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 brennok

brennok

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 October 2013 - 02:39 AM

I would love to have bitflock where I could run it on my Synology NAS.



#2 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,196 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 21 October 2013 - 03:04 AM

We're pretty much only a Windows outfit, but it isn't a bad idea at all. Flagging for Alex for consideration.

 

Regards


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#3 AndreasK

AndreasK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 12 February 2015 - 04:04 AM

Yes, this would be a great tool and you'd get loads of drive information



#4 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,196 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 12 February 2015 - 07:53 PM

This depends on the Synology box.

 

I'm assuming that you're referring to the consumer grade boxes, that are using the Synology DSM operating system.

If so, then this is actually using a distro of Linux. This would require porting over all of the code.

Additionally, because the DSM OS uses a form of RAID, we may not be able to get the disk information anyways.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#5 AndreasK

AndreasK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 13 February 2015 - 09:49 AM

Sure, I understand the porting issue. You'd be surprised however at how much of the standard linux tools these NAS OS's use so I doubt you'd have a problem in getting the SMART info. Most of the platforms already do it as part of their own disk maintenance. 



#6 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,196 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 13 February 2015 - 07:20 PM

Well, the problem isn't getting the SMART data. In fact, that would probably be the easiest part.

The hard part would be rewriting all the drive identification code, as well as the disk parser (what is used to do the surface scan) and the NTFS parser (what does the file recovery), and making sure it works on a "*NIX" based OS. 

This isn't a small task, and would require a LOT of rewriting, or writing of band new code. As well as extensive testing to make sure it works right.

 

As I said, while this seems like a simple request, it is a very involved process.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users