Jump to content

  • Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Photo

Drive keeps dismounting


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Gbyrd

Gbyrd

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts

Posted 30 November 2016 - 10:38 AM

Lately i have been noticing this a lot, where my drive suddenly dismounts. I have no idea what is causing this. I would leave it uploading things as i am trying to offload a lot of things onto my google drive, and suddenly i come back to it and it has dismounted



#2 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,196 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 30 November 2016 - 11:17 PM

The drive can (will) unmount if it encounters a lot of errors in a short period of time.  This is to prevent the system from locking up (a lot of IO errors or waiting can cause it to hang). 

 

Could you install the latest beta build and see if that helps?

http://dl.covecube.c...77_x64_BETA.exe

 

If not, let me know.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#3 digitalwicked

digitalwicked

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 01 December 2016 - 05:03 AM

Hi Christopher, 

 

I have also been experiencing this issue across both Onedrive and google drive using the latest versions. I upgraded to 1.0.0.777 and still experiencing the issues. This generally occurs once every 18-24hrs and typically can be with no data transferring. 

 

Clouddrive is running on a VPS with 1ms latency to onedrive and 3ms latency to google drive with up to 500mbit transfer speeds to onedrive.

 

I also find that the program uses a large amount of memory and can cause a VPS to lock up with under 2GB.

 

Thanks



#4 Gbyrd

Gbyrd

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts

Posted 01 December 2016 - 07:54 PM

The drive can (will) unmount if it encounters a lot of errors in a short period of time.  This is to prevent the system from locking up (a lot of IO errors or waiting can cause it to hang). 

 

Could you install the latest beta build and see if that helps?

http://dl.covecube.c...77_x64_BETA.exe

 

If not, let me know.

 

Downloaded will test it out, I have noticed Google drive download speed is now atrocious and extremely slow. 3 Mbps. before it use to do way more. Killing ability to stream



#5 Kurtz

Kurtz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 03 December 2016 - 04:44 AM

I'm also having this problem, never had this before on older versions. I'm using last BETA (777) available.

 

To recap my steps which reproduces this:

- Copy a bunch of files to the cloud

- In the middle of copying these files to the cache disk, the cloud drive disconnects.

- CloudDrive tries to upload the stuff I copied but the disk is unavailable (not visible in explorer) and I can't detach/reattach because there are files to be uploaded

- Bunch of "Error getting write requests from driver. The system cannot find the file specified" in logs, keeps spamming it until I reboot the system.

- Solution is to reboot system and after it, clouddrive tries to recover the cloud disk.

 

To make it short, it's almost impossible to upload a big stack of files since there's a good chance of this to happen.



#6 Gbyrd

Gbyrd

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts

Posted 03 December 2016 - 01:34 PM

So far it is working well in terms of dismounting. Not having issues with it on 777, The second it starts uploading it dismounts. And the downloading is maxing out at 15 mbps. But the verification chunks download way faster than 15mbps



#7 ffj

ffj

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 04 December 2016 - 05:01 PM

So far it is working well in terms of dismounting. Not having issues with it on 777, The second it starts uploading it dismounts. And the downloading is maxing out at 15 mbps. But the verification chunks download way faster than 15mbps

Same here. Its unusable lately, its only prefatching with 2mbps on a 1gbit line.



#8 Gbyrd

Gbyrd

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts

Posted 04 December 2016 - 10:10 PM

Same here. Its unusable lately, its only prefatching with 2mbps on a 1gbit line.

 

Yeah mine is now working great. Except that my cloud drive isn't encrypted which has me worried so now i have to transfer from ONE drive to a new encrypted one



#9 IanN

IanN

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 05 December 2016 - 01:51 PM

I have also been having random dismounts, using 777. I am also having issues where it will just stop uploading. This is with GDrive.



#10 CalvinNL

CalvinNL

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 05 December 2016 - 08:40 PM

@Christopher

Could you add an option (per drive) which forces CloudDrive to keep the disk mounted (with drive letter), because dismounting breaks other applications.

I understand that Windows may slow down significantly if the cloud provider does not respond to requests, but it's worse if you have to re-check a torrent of 1 TB because the disk just unmounted..



#11 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,196 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 06 December 2016 - 01:38 AM

For those with the dismounting issue, could you enable logging and reproduce the issue? 

 

http://wiki.covecube...e_Drive_Tracing

 

And could you open a ticket at https://stablebit.com/Contact

 

 

@Christopher

Could you add an option (per drive) which forces CloudDrive to keep the disk mounted (with drive letter), because dismounting breaks other applications.

I understand that Windows may slow down significantly if the cloud provider does not respond to requests, but it's worse if you have to re-check a torrent of 1 TB because the disk just unmounted..

 

There is a global setting for this, and using that should work for the interim.

http://wiki.covecube...vanced_Settings

Increase the "CloudFsDisk_MaximumConsecutiveIoFailures" value.

 

And it's not just that it slows down the system, it can cause the entire system to hang. This is an I/O issue, and not something we can fix.  The option is to let the system hang, or unmount the drive.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#12 Gbyrd

Gbyrd

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts

Posted 06 December 2016 - 12:52 PM

For those with the dismounting issue, could you enable logging and reproduce the issue? 

 

http://wiki.covecube...e_Drive_Tracing

 

And could you open a ticket at https://stablebit.com/Contact

 

 

 

There is a global setting for this, and using that should work for the interim.

http://wiki.covecube...vanced_Settings

Increase the "CloudFsDisk_MaximumConsecutiveIoFailures" value.

 

And it's not just that it slows down the system, it can cause the entire system to hang. This is an I/O issue, and not something we can fix.  The option is to let the system hang, or unmount the drive.

Still get dismounts on occasion will log it 



#13 IanN

IanN

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 06 December 2016 - 04:03 PM

Well, I set CloudFsDisk_MaximumConsecutiveIoFailures to 15 and it hasn't unmounted for a while, but it is not uploading and shows an error of:

 

Warning: 0 : [ValidateLogins] Error instantiating management provider. Security error.



#14 IanN

IanN

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 07 December 2016 - 09:04 AM

Its actually working loads better now. It is uploading, but just slowly and keeps going down to 0bps all the time.



#15 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,196 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 07 December 2016 - 10:45 PM

IanN,

 

Could you reauthorize the drive ("Drive Options" -> "Reauthorize") and see if that helps?

 

If not, could you open a ticket at https://stablebit.com/Contactand grab the logs from the system?

http://wiki.covecube...CloudDrive_Logs


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#16 IanN

IanN

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 08 December 2016 - 03:55 PM

The file is too large, do you have an alternative upload?



#17 wid_sbdp

wid_sbdp

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 49 posts

Posted 08 December 2016 - 08:58 PM

Any option of an automatic retry (when the drive dismounts and displays retry/reauthorize)? I think the default settings are a bit too strict. I have upload/download threads set to 3 (yes, three... and even at 3 i get the little yellow turtles still, throttling) with 1Gbps up/down (can hit 400mbs upload easily to ACD even with other bandwidth being used) and, again, while at work my drive dismounted at some point with only 6 errors in the status corner. It's obvious there isn't an issue, or maybe there are times when there are issues on Amazon's end, but forcing a manual retry to mount makes this a very very very managed setup. Maybe 15 minutes later do an automatic retry on mounting? Oh it works? Continue going? Something is still messed up with your connection? Doesn't mount and starts over with the counter.



#18 eldite

eldite

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 10 December 2016 - 11:14 AM

Any option of an automatic retry (when the drive dismounts and displays retry/reauthorize)? I think the default settings are a bit too strict. I have upload/download threads set to 3 (yes, three... and even at 3 i get the little yellow turtles still, throttling) with 1Gbps up/down (can hit 400mbs upload easily to ACD even with other bandwidth being used) and, again, while at work my drive dismounted at some point with only 6 errors in the status corner. It's obvious there isn't an issue, or maybe there are times when there are issues on Amazon's end, but forcing a manual retry to mount makes this a very very very managed setup. Maybe 15 minutes later do an automatic retry on mounting? Oh it works? Continue going? Something is still messed up with your connection? Doesn't mount and starts over with the counter.

 

Yes, not having to click the "Retry" for remounting would be a BIG feature, it could auto retry every after 5, 10, 20, 30, 1hrs, 2 hrs, etc. 



#19 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,196 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 11 December 2016 - 09:30 PM

The file is too large, do you have an alternative upload?

https://www.dropbox....Fa2EH9VSJqP3QLM

 

 

Any option of an automatic retry (when the drive dismounts and displays retry/reauthorize)? I think the default settings are a bit too strict. I have upload/download threads set to 3 (yes, three... and even at 3 i get the little yellow turtles still, throttling) with 1Gbps up/down (can hit 400mbs upload easily to ACD even with other bandwidth being used) and, again, while at work my drive dismounted at some point with only 6 errors in the status corner. It's obvious there isn't an issue, or maybe there are times when there are issues on Amazon's end, but forcing a manual retry to mount makes this a very very very managed setup. Maybe 15 minutes later do an automatic retry on mounting? Oh it works? Continue going? Something is still messed up with your connection? Doesn't mount and starts over with the counter.

 

http://wiki.covecube...vanced_Settings

 

Change "CloudFsDisk_MaximumConsecutiveIoFailures" to a higher value, and reboot.

 

 

Also, note, this value is over a 120 window, with each error resetting the window.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#20 wid_sbdp

wid_sbdp

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 49 posts

Posted 12 December 2016 - 12:33 AM

I changed it to 15 and still got a dismount. Sorry but I'm done with CloudDrive* for the moment, I'll revisit it in a few months and see what sort of improvements have been implemented. I'm 99% sure it has to do with the 1MB prefetch block downloads, that's just absurd I/O being put on ACD for a 3GB file that needs to be prefetched. And why that is tied to "minimum download size" is beyond me (may need to change the wording of that dropdown to clarify). And the fact it defaults to 1MB if you choose "no minimum size" which makes absolutely no sense. Yeah if I remade my drive and made it with settings that worked with what I know now, might not have as many issues (haven't been having issues with the Google Drive that I made with the increased minimum download size), but honestly I'm just tired of getting up to ~3TB of content loaded into a drive and then having to start over when someone notices another random setting that can only be done at drive creation.

 

* From a media storage standpoint, still using some licenses on my PCs at home because it's great for backing up "regular" stuff. I use it daily at my desktop moving off Dropbox to ACD and having an encrypted store mounted locally on my PC. AMAZING for that.


  • thnz likes this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users