Jump to content

  • Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Photo

Bitflock Stopped Working


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 thorrrr

thorrrr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 09 October 2013 - 09:40 AM

Hi Guys 

 

I have run Bitflock before on my Pc as i have a Nest.

Recently tried to run it, which it does but fails to show report or update.

 

I then get an error report popup but that fails as well !!!!!!

 

I have unlocked the file and i run as Admin !!!!

 

Error here



#2 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 09 October 2013 - 05:56 PM

Unfortunately, it looks like the app is crashing for some reason.

Could grab the files from "C:\ProgramData\BitFlock.com" (you may need to type it in, or enable "Show Hidden Files" to see the folder).

And then submit them to http://stablebit.com/Contact and use "Scanner" for the product.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#3 Alex

Alex

    Lead Programmer

  • Administrators
  • 243 posts
  • LocationNew York, USA

Posted 10 October 2013 - 06:06 AM

About the error reporting, unfortunately BitFlock is a bit out of date in this regard. Automatic online reporting did not work out as intended. The main issue is that some people have repetitive errors (such as WMI or COM errors and the such) that can clog the automatic reporting system fairly quickly (at you can see).

 

I'll try to update BitFlock within the next couple of days to stop doing that, and I'll also rebuild it with the latest code. Let me know if the issue continues after that and we can look into it further.



#4 Alex

Alex

    Lead Programmer

  • Administrators
  • 243 posts
  • LocationNew York, USA

Posted 10 October 2013 - 09:55 PM

Ok, I've updated the BitFlock client to write out the error reports, write out an event log entry and show a more informative error message with a link to this forum.

 

In addition, it is now compiled against our latest disk pass-through code. Give the new build a try and let me know if the problem continues (v. 1.0.0.545).



#5 thorrrr

thorrrr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 10 October 2013 - 11:10 PM

Still getting an error sent you an email with screen shot as this does not allow me to add not working ???



#6 Alex

Alex

    Lead Programmer

  • Administrators
  • 243 posts
  • LocationNew York, USA

Posted 11 October 2013 - 12:49 AM

Ok, you should find error reports in:

C:\ProgramData\BitFlock.com\ErrorReports

 

Please ZIP them up and attach them here and I'll take a look at why it's crashing.

 

Thanks,



#7 Alex

Alex

    Lead Programmer

  • Administrators
  • 243 posts
  • LocationNew York, USA

Posted 15 October 2013 - 05:38 AM

Ok, I got your error reports.

 

It seems like "https://" is not registered on your system, as if you have no default web browser installed. So in that case, just typing in the URL that's on the screen in any web browser's address bar should work.



#8 thorrrr

thorrrr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 15 October 2013 - 07:10 AM

Hi Alex 

 

Sorry that is wrong i open https all day in Chrome my default browser. I have https links on my desktop that open straight in Chrome !!!

 

 

 

Browser%20Default.png



#9 Alex

Alex

    Lead Programmer

  • Administrators
  • 243 posts
  • LocationNew York, USA

Posted 15 October 2013 - 05:13 PM

I use this well known method to open web links from the BitFlock client:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/305703

 

The error that I'm seeing from your system is:

[System]System.ComponentModel.Win32Exception: Class not registered

 

The Microsoft article does state that:

"This code is highly dependent on the application-file type associations in the HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT hive of the registry. This can lead to unexpected results and exceptions if the registry is damaged."

 

So that may be one cause.

 

However, I do see that over here:

http://stackoverflow...-my-application

 

There's a comment to suggest that this has something to do with Windows 8 and some suggestions that it may have something to do with UAC. I just tried it on a fairly clean Windows 8 machine and it seems to be working as intended.



#10 Alex

Alex

    Lead Programmer

  • Administrators
  • 243 posts
  • LocationNew York, USA

Posted 15 October 2013 - 05:40 PM

Just to followup with some more info, I've tested this on Windows 8 with UAC enabled / disabled / completely disabled (via. registry hack) and have tried it with IE and Chrome and I can't reproduce this. It works correctly every time for me.

 

The error seems pretty clear the "Class", being HTTPS is not registered in the registry. So it can't find the app to open HTTPS links (Chrome in your case).

 

I was thinking that there might be some combination of browser / UAC settings that would cause this to manifest, but that doesn't seem to be the case. i can't think of another explanation other than the class is really not registered, there is a registry corruption or perhaps a misconfiguration.

 

Not sure if this is relevant, but here are some people talking about "Class not registered" on Windows 8 with Chrome:

http://productforums...KU/MpORZ-lEyIoJ

 

Looks like a bunch of people have something similar, but this was with Chrome 22 which is kind of dated by now.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users