perc H310 with drivepool IT or leave it as it is

asdaHP

Question

Hi,

So adding one more gadget, i just ordered a perc H310 from ebay to give me access to more SATA drives in my dell t20. It seems everywhere i read, this is being discussed with flashing to the LSI 9211 IT mode, mostly though for freenas. I am running a win 2012 r2 essentials and drivepool. Do i gain in reliability or speed in flashing to the IT mode (vs the risks that i goof up while doing all those DOS boots) or should i leave it as it is with the dell firmware?

Does drivepool handle one better than the other? (Dell vs lsi IT)

Somewhere else i read that in this IT mode, drives dont get parked and that could be an issue (i have three HGST drives currently). To avoid it i have to do another bunch of steps to allow that or that i should leave the card in IR mode. Does leaving the dell Perc H310 with the dell firmware keep it in IR mode (i am a newbie, and despite reading the servethehome writeups, i just dont get what the IR mode actually is).

thank you for reading and answering.

21 answers to this question

ir - i think means raid - it gives you individual disks and no raid

in raid mode it may cause problems as IIRC you have to have a drive connected to access the controller/boot

to be honest just bung it in and boot the pc - see if it pops up with a bios screen that you can access - if you can make sure its set for single disks - i.e. no raid - it might say legacy drives - if it does good 

let it boot in to windows and can you see the drives?

If so format them and run scanner in burst mode on each disk (right click in scanner on the disk) - leave the pc for several hours or over night - no errors - bob's your auntie!!

if you get issues - flash it - just dont brick it :)

ir - i think means raid - it gives you individual disks and no raid

in raid mode it may cause problems as IIRC you have to have a drive connected to access the controller/boot