Jump to content

  • Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Photo

NVMe smart


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Arghhh

Arghhh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 15 February 2016 - 09:27 PM

Is it possible to get smart data from Samsung NVMe SSD?  Samsung Magician can poll some of the critical data from the drive so I hope it's eventually possible.



#2 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,976 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 15 February 2016 - 09:58 PM

What form factor is the drive, and what specific model?

 

And have you tried the DirectIO Test tool on it?

http://community.cov...bute-test-data/


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#3 Arghhh

Arghhh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 19 February 2016 - 04:37 AM

It is a M.2 2280 Samsung MZ-V5P512BW

 

I ran the Direct I/O test successfully but didn't get good data.

 

HYtgB1g.jpg



#4 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,976 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 19 February 2016 - 05:41 AM

Okay, thanks for filling in the info.

 

Try checking the "Unsafe Direct IO" option. 

Specifically, you're looking to see if it lights up the "SMART Attributes" section, under either WMI or DirectIO. 

 

If that doesn't help, check the "Specific Method" option and try them one at a time.

 

 

However, we have had one other user with an NVMe M.2 drive, and from the looks of it, these drives don't provide SMART data at all. Or are using a completely new (and undocumented) method for passing SMART like info to the system. 


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#5 Arghhh

Arghhh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 19 February 2016 - 05:02 PM

I wasn't able to get any more data from Direct IO.  Here is what Samsung Magician shows.

zV6Lo5f.jpg



#6 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,976 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 19 February 2016 - 08:38 PM

Okay, thanks for letting me know. And no data shows with any of the "Specific Method" options as well? 
 

And yeah, it definitely sounds like it's obfuscating the SMART data in some way. (though, that's a pretty rudimentary list) 

https://stablebit.co...eAnalysis/25920

 

 

And what version of StableBit Scanner are you using specifically?


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#7 Arghhh

Arghhh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 27 February 2016 - 03:55 AM

I didn't get any info with any method sadly.

 

I am using 2.5.2.3103 BETA



#8 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,976 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 27 February 2016 - 07:55 AM

If none of the Specfic Method options are working, then it means that it may no be passing the data long via the normal methods.  Meaning we'll have to get our hands on one (or more) and see what exactly is going on.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#9 Mirabis

Mirabis

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

Posted 19 July 2016 - 08:40 AM

If none of the Specfic Method options are working, then it means that it may no be passing the data long via the normal methods.  Meaning we'll have to get our hands on one (or more) and see what exactly is going on.

I have the same issue with my P3700 Intel NVMe drives... but have 1 spare. I'm willing to lend u one if shipping is covered, but we'll most likely be on opposite sides of the world xD



#10 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,976 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 19 July 2016 - 07:57 PM

I have the same issue with my P3700 Intel NVMe drives... but have 1 spare. I'm willing to lend u one if shipping is covered, but we'll most likely be on opposite sides of the world xD

 

Have you tried the DirectIO Test utility above?  If none of the "specific method" options work for you, then it may not be passing on SMART data. Or at least in a known (or non-proprietary way). 

 

Before anything else, confirmation of that would be best. 

And from there, we can see what the next step may be. 

 

And ideally, if you could open a ticket at https://stablebit.com/Contact (that way, if we do decide to do the shipping, we can discuss it securely, without everyone being able to see the details, such as our addresses)


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#11 Mirabis

Mirabis

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

Posted 19 July 2016 - 08:09 PM

Have you tried the DirectIO Test utility above? If none of the "specific method" options work for you, then it may not be passing on SMART data. Or at least in a known (or non-proprietary way).

Before anything else, confirmation of that would be best.
And from there, we can see what the next step may be.

And ideally, if you could open a ticket at https://stablebit.com/Contact (that way, if we do decide to do the shipping, we can discuss it securely, without everyone being able to see the details, such as our addresses)


Yeah didn't show anything, same for my he8 SAS drives on the MegaRaid M5200. A little bit busy this week, but will try to post a ticket, screenshots and stuff end of the week.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#12 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,976 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 19 July 2016 - 09:04 PM

Yeah didn't show anything, same for my he8 SAS drives on the MegaRaid M5200. A little bit busy this week, but will try to post a ticket, screenshots and stuff end of the week.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 

 

The He8 SAS drive won't show SMART data. SAS drives don't use SMART at all.  There is information to be had, but we don't currently support SAS info in StableBit Scanner.

 

As for the NVMe drives, likely we have to write a new query method, as it *is* a different protocol (not based on AHCI). 


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#13 Spider99

Spider99

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 419 posts
  • LocationWarrington, UK

Posted 17 March 2017 - 08:21 PM

Any update on getting "smart" data from NVMe drives

 

Samsung Pro 950 NVME - no smart or temp values being passed to Scanner

 

Also Scanner Smart option is not available via the interface

 

Scanner 2.5.2.3124


Tim

---------

DrivePool & Scanner on 2012R2 Essentials Server Gigabyte Z87x OC Force, i7-4790S, 32 GB, LSI 9211, HP SAS Expander, 27 Storage disks, 6 SSD Cache, ~115 TB Storage


#14 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,976 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 18 March 2017 - 11:51 PM

Any update on getting "smart" data from NVMe drives

 

Samsung Pro 950 NVME - no smart or temp values being passed to Scanner

 

Also Scanner Smart option is not available via the interface

 

Scanner 2.5.2.3124

 

 

No, not yet. 

 

Just a heads up, because StableBit CloudDrive is close to release, the plan is to get it pretty much all the way there, and then go through all of the pending issues and feature requests for StableBit CloudDrive and StableBit DrivePool. 

 

This means that we should get to issues like this relatively soon. 

 

Though, this may take slightly longer, as it does involve ... essentially purchasing the hardware to test it on. 


  • Bluetac likes this

Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#15 Spider99

Spider99

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 419 posts
  • LocationWarrington, UK

Posted 19 March 2017 - 08:52 AM

ok

 

happy to be a test bed as have three 950 Pro nvme if that would help?


Tim

---------

DrivePool & Scanner on 2012R2 Essentials Server Gigabyte Z87x OC Force, i7-4790S, 32 GB, LSI 9211, HP SAS Expander, 27 Storage disks, 6 SSD Cache, ~115 TB Storage


#16 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,976 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 21 March 2017 - 06:59 AM

ok

 

happy to be a test bed as have three 950 Pro nvme if that would help?

 

I suspect that it may help. But maybe not.

 

It also depends on time. So many things to do, so few hours in the day. 


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#17 Spider99

Spider99

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 419 posts
  • LocationWarrington, UK

Posted 21 March 2017 - 03:27 PM

I suspect that it may help. But maybe not.

 

It also depends on time. So many things to do, so few hours in the day. 

ROFL what does that even mean?

 

committal, non committal, depends, and maybe!


Tim

---------

DrivePool & Scanner on 2012R2 Essentials Server Gigabyte Z87x OC Force, i7-4790S, 32 GB, LSI 9211, HP SAS Expander, 27 Storage disks, 6 SSD Cache, ~115 TB Storage


#18 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,976 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 22 March 2017 - 06:24 AM

ROFL what does that even mean?

 

committal, non committal, depends, and maybe!

That we won't know until Alex is ready to mess with it. 

 

And I don't like giving definite answers when I don't know for certain.

 

 

Also, it may require some lower level tools to be installed on the system. Stuff that can be a pain to get installed, or used remotely. Etc. 


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users