Jump to content

  • Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Photo

Redneck SAS expander mounting...


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 propergol

propergol

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 80 posts
  • LocationFrance

Posted 10 October 2015 - 03:45 PM

Some picts of my quick but functional SAS expander mounting  :ph34r:

 

A very efficient 350W TFX PSU :

 

44269520151007170915.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

SAS mount  :P  :

 

98712020151007184612.jpg

 

 

 

 

56511720151007185039.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

Mounted in the case.

The setup isn't complete yet (but working). When completed it would have 1x 240GB SSD + 3x240Gb caching SSDs, 6x4TB  + 3x5TB HDs : virtualy 39TB with SSD write caching x3.

On this picture I was testing dual link between the M1115 and Intel SAS expander :

 

 

19074620151008003533.jpg

 

 

 

 

Single link :

 
24990120151010164451.jpg
 
 
I need some more work on cable management...
But cooling is now perfectly tunned with SpeedFan that controls 5 case fans.
HDs are between 29C and 34C and both SAS card's CPU below 45C (thanks to a case fan puching air between both SAS cards).

  • Christopher (Drashna) likes this

#2 propergol

propergol

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 80 posts
  • LocationFrance

Posted 18 October 2015 - 06:07 PM

Small update : I did replace the original heatsink with a bigger and 100% copper one.

I did fixed it with Arctic Sylver Thermal Adhesive, so it's permanent but much more efficient than thermal paste in this case.

Then I did bended the heatsink pins one by one.

The result is an impressive 20C temp drop from 45-50C to 27-30C.

 

I plan to do the same for the top M1115.

 

 

47979820151016133653.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

25616720151016141837.jpg

 

 

 

 

59540020151016165625.jpg

 

 

 

 

89291520151018181329.jpg


  • Christopher (Drashna) and cryodream like this

#3 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 19 October 2015 - 07:51 PM

Very nice!

 

And it looks like you're very used to modding stuff!


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#4 propergol

propergol

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 80 posts
  • LocationFrance

Posted 19 October 2015 - 08:54 PM

Thanks.

Yes, after 10 years with watercooling cases (some were dual Xeon), I am now only doing air cooled stuff and even if its more challenging regarding temperatures, its way cheaper...

A good controled air flow with positive air pressure can cool a lot of setup, with near to zero maintenance.

 

Now that I use DrivePool, I would be able to keep the same case and if I need more data room, only change 4TB drives as price drop with 8TB, one by one...

72TB in a small mid tower with all HD under 35C  :)


  • Christopher (Drashna) likes this

#5 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 20 October 2015 - 08:17 PM

Water cooling is great, if you never plan on changing stuff. :)

 

And yeah, air cooling is much simpler.  And for the post part, there isn't really a huge gain one way or another. 

 

 

And yeah, I definitely agree with you on the hard drives. Though, I'm using a rackmount case. But to each their own


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#6 CroneNot

CroneNot

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 November 2016 - 11:26 PM

I like the idea - I did a mod to that effect, but I used a small power supply to power 6 drives, I ran out of power connector from my HDD and didn't want to use y-power connectors. With the supply you're using, did you set it up so when you power on it starts. or do you have a separate switch for it ?- I ran 2 pins from the new supply (green and black) to the main supply so when the main powers up the smaller powers on - power down is the same. I like it alot. Well done



#7 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 27 November 2016 - 02:14 AM

I like the idea - I did a mod to that effect, but I used a small power supply to power 6 drives, I ran out of power connector from my HDD and didn't want to use y-power connectors. With the supply you're using, did you set it up so when you power on it starts. or do you have a separate switch for it ?- I ran 2 pins from the new supply (green and black) to the main supply so when the main powers up the smaller powers on - power down is the same. I like it alot. Well done

Have you seen these?

https://www.servethe...ssis-made-easy/

 

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16816101800

 

They're a lot more expensive than they have a right to be IMO, but allows you to handle a normal PSU with any case's power button. :)


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users