Jump to content

  • Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Photo

Wrong smart info for Microsoft Storage Space


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#21 McFaul

McFaul

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 82 posts

Posted 22 January 2016 - 11:18 AM

OK, thats great, the sooner the better!

 

I've got a 10 drive storage space and at the moment i cant even monitor the drive temps, but i'd love to have the re-assurance of a monthly surface scan on them too :)



#22 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 22 January 2016 - 01:00 PM

OK, thats great, the sooner the better!

 

I've got a 10 drive storage space and at the moment i cant even monitor the drive temps, but i'd love to have the re-assurance of a monthly surface scan on them too :)

Well, the surface scans still work, at least. 

 

The big issue here is how to display both the "logical" disks displayed (the storage space), and the individual disks, as well. 

And that's even considering if all the same information about the disks is provided.  So this is a complicated request.


  • Techtonic likes this

Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#23 McFaul

McFaul

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 82 posts

Posted 22 January 2016 - 01:02 PM

but would it be scanning the underlying disk - or would it be scanning the storage space?

 

I have a couple of thin provisioned volumes on my space



#24 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 22 January 2016 - 01:20 PM

RIght now, it does scan the storage space.

 

As for future versions... that's something that we'd need to look into and test out. Part of why it's "a complicated request". :)


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#25 McFaul

McFaul

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 82 posts

Posted 22 January 2016 - 01:24 PM

Okay dokay, i wont put scanner on that machine yet then!

 

Thanks

 

Chris



#26 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 23 January 2016 - 07:56 PM

Okay dokay, i wont put scanner on that machine yet then!

 

Thanks

 

Chris

Well, there shouldn't be any issues with putting StableBit Scanner on the system right now.

 

Worst case, you can use the "Disk Settings" option (right click on the Storage Space) to disable the automatic scanning of the drive. (also, if it's formatted as NTFS, letting it run the file system scan is a good idea)


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users