The most basic questions

WordTickler

Question

I'm new to drive/disk pooling but definitely hooked.

A couple of weeks ago I tested and then bought Drive Ender (a.k.a. Drive Bender). I need no duplication, load balancing nor landing zone support as I only host 10tb of movies that I have all the original disks for. Running a 1tb SSD and three 4tb drives. In Drive Ender, I turned off those features and still watched the software constantly load balancing. I contacted their support and they were more than rude to me--condescending actually--and ultimately admitted it was a bug they've been working on. Many other people in the forums were having the same issue and getting angrier every hour. So I decided I'd take the hit on the purchase and find another solution. The main thing that irked me about "forced" balancing was that is was rapidly shortening the lifespan of my brand new (1st ever owned and very protected of) SSD and they had no sympathy for that.

I really hunched down on the keyboard and performed exhaustive research (hundreds of forum posts) before deciding on DriveCool (a.k.a. DrivePool, heh). Just a couple of hours ago, I downloaded the trial, installed it and decided to give it a whirl. I was hoping you guys at StableBit could help me help you while helping you help me--IOW, feel the pain of someone new to your product as they experience it. So here goes:

01.png

...then...

02.png

...then...

03.png

I really really want to like DrivePool. Anyone?

-= WordTickler =-

4 answers to this question

When you add Drives to the Pool, there is a hidden folder that is created on the drive. If you enable hidden folders you will see a folder with a bunch of numbers(GUID) (ie: PoolPart.5244d622-70db-4b3d-a3ed-d335999b08b2) That folder will be on every drive and any content in that folder will be visible in Foxtrot.

So all you have to do is go on S,T and U and move all the content into the Poolpart folder.