Jump to content

  • Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Photo

How To: Get SMART data passed on from ESXI 5.1 Host

SMART ESXI VMware virtual windows server 2012

  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 Val3ntin

Val3ntin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 07 August 2013 - 07:06 AM

Based on the feedback from the community, here is how to get your ESXi Host to pass on SMART data for Scanner in your guest VMs.

 

All you need to do is the following and then any disk (not USB) you plugin in thereafter will be available for RDM:

  1. In the ESXi Console window, highlight your server
  2. Go to the Configuration tab
  3. Under Software, click Advanced Settings
  4. Click RdmFilter
  5. Uncheck the box for RdmFilter.HbaIsShared
  6. Click OK

 

 

Used the Advanced Settings for StableBit Scanner to enable "UnsafeDirectIo" to get the SMART data from the virtual controller:

http://wiki.covecube...vanced_Settings

And make sure that "UnsafeDirectIo" is set to "True", and reboot.

*Note: UnsafeDirectIo is "unsafe" for a reason. It is possible that it can cause issues or glitches, or in extremely rare conditions it can cause BSODs. In a large majority of cases, these issues don't occur, but it is a possibility. So definitely "at your own risk".

 

 

 

Original Post:

 

Hi Guys,

I have a Dell Precision T3500 Workstation, that are running VMware ESXi 5.1.0. On this host i have created 2 virtual machines, both are Windows 2012 server standard. One of these are running Stablebit Scanner v. 2.4.0.2928.

 

My problem is, that it does not show SMART status, temperatures or anything for any of my drives. This i all the data i get (se picture). Is there something i need to install on my ESXi host, or is this just not possible on my setup, because i use VMware?

fig1_1.png

 

This i what i have on the host server:
fig1_2.png

 

Thank you in advance..
 


Edited by drashna, 04 September 2013 - 06:06 AM.
To make information easier to find

  • Tardas-Zib, Ginoliggime and KiaraEvirm like this

#2 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,287 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 07 August 2013 - 09:09 PM

Unfortunately, you won't be able to get SMART data.

The issue is that ESXi (and HyperV even) use a virtual drive (even for the passed through disks) and this driver doesn't collect and pass one the SMART data.  

Also, since ESXi is based on *NIX, it means there isn't anything we can really do.

If you were using HyperV, you could install StableBit Scanner on that, but you'd want to disable file system and surface scans for any disks passed through.

 

I know that's not what you want to hear, Sorry.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#3 otispresley

otispresley

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 99 posts
  • LocationApex, NC

Posted 08 August 2013 - 08:00 PM

You can get SMART data if you pass the entire controller through to your VM, but this is the only way.  You cannot do this if the drives you are using for ESXi are connected to that same controller



#4 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,287 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 08 August 2013 - 08:24 PM

otispresley,
Thanks for the clarification. I'm not as familiar with ESXi, as I'm a hyper-V user.

Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#5 Codegear

Codegear

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • LocationMontréal, Canada

Posted 28 August 2013 - 01:34 AM

Hi Val3ntin,

 

It is feasible, as it works for me.  I have WSE2012 in ESXi 5.1.

 

1. Link your physical disks to ESXi using the RDM technique described in this blog (http://blog.davidwar...orage-for-esxi/)

2. In file "C:\Program Files (x86)\StableBit\Scanner\Service\Scanner.Service.exe.config", change setting "UnsafeDirectIo" to "True" - don't forget to reboot !

 

 

Good luck.


  • Christopher (Drashna) and otispresley like this

#6 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,287 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 28 August 2013 - 02:53 AM

Codegear, thanks for the details!


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#7 otispresley

otispresley

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 99 posts
  • LocationApex, NC

Posted 28 August 2013 - 02:52 PM

Thanks!  I was not aware of this setting.  By the way, you don't have to go through all that for RDM anymore.  All you need to do is the following and then any disk (not USB) you plugin in thereafter will be available for RDM:

  1. In the ESXi Console window, highlight your server
  2. Go to the Configuration tab
  3. Under Software, click Advanced Settings
  4. Click RdmFilter
  5. Uncheck the box for RdmFilter.HbaIsShared
  6. Click OK

Hi Val3ntin,

 

It is feasible, as it works for me.  I have WSE2012 in ESXi 5.1.

 

1. Link your physical disks to ESXi using the RDM technique described in this blog (http://blog.davidwar...orage-for-esxi/)

2. In file "C:\Program Files (x86)\StableBit\Scanner\Service\Scanner.Service.exe.config", change setting "UnsafeDirectIo" to "True" - don't forget to reboot !

 

 

Good luck.


  • Christopher (Drashna) and Shane like this

#8 Codegear

Codegear

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • LocationMontréal, Canada

Posted 29 August 2013 - 12:46 AM

Learning new tricks every day :)

 

Thank you for sharing otispresley !



#9 otispresley

otispresley

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 99 posts
  • LocationApex, NC

Posted 03 September 2013 - 02:37 AM

Just so everyone knows, I enabled the setting UnsafeDirectIo in Scanner, following this guide: http://wiki.covecube...vanced_Settings

 

 

Everything is working as expected.  I am now getting SMART data for all my RDM drives.  Thanks Codegear!



#10 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,287 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 03 September 2013 - 10:28 PM

Unless anyone objects, I'm going to pin this thread, rename it and edit the first post, so anyone else using ESXi can easily find this. 

Thanks guys for the input and feedback!!


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#11 otispresley

otispresley

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 99 posts
  • LocationApex, NC

Posted 04 September 2013 - 01:57 AM

Hey drashna,

 

The process in post #7 (the new way to enable RDM capability) is done instead of following the link in post #5 (the old way you had to enable RDM before ESXi 5.x).  So, the whole guide is literally post #7 plus UnsafeDirectIo for newer ESXi versions.  There is no reason not to run a version that supports this since ESXi has the free license available.  Thanks and keep up the great work!

 

Unless anyone objects, I'm going to pin this thread, rename it and edit the first post, so anyone else using ESXi can easily find this. 

Thanks guys for the input and feedback!!



#12 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,287 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 04 September 2013 - 06:08 AM

Thanks.  The first post look better now?

 

 

To be honest, I'm more of a Hyper-V guy, so I'm not as familiar with ESXi as I would like to be.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#13 otispresley

otispresley

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 99 posts
  • LocationApex, NC

Posted 04 September 2013 - 01:02 PM

Yep, looks good!  Thanks!  I used to use the first iteration of Hyper-V but not with DrivePool or Scanner.  I remember that you had to set a disk to Offline in Disk Management before you could pass it through to a VM, but I am not sure if that is still the case in Hyper-V 2012.

 

Thanks.  The first post look better now?

 

 

To be honest, I'm more of a Hyper-V guy, so I'm not as familiar with ESXi as I would like to be.



#14 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,287 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 05 September 2013 - 02:54 AM

That's still the case.  Which is fine by me. There is a "trick" to get the OS to set all new disks as "offline" by default. I "borrowed" it from the Windows To Go setup guide:

http://social.techne...ep-by-step.aspx


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#15 otispresley

otispresley

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 99 posts
  • LocationApex, NC

Posted 05 September 2013 - 12:42 PM

Maybe that data, along with this post, should be used to make another How-To sticky for SMART data in Hyper-V.

 

That's still the case.  Which is fine by me. There is a "trick" to get the OS to set all new disks as "offline" by default. I "borrowed" it from the Windows To Go setup guide:

http://social.techne...ep-by-step.aspx



#16 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 7,287 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 07 September 2013 - 01:07 AM

Well, you can't pass on SMART data on Hyper V (well, unless alex wants to figure out how to hack the pass through drivers to do so....), but you can install a second licensed copy (at a discount at least) on the HyperV host. If it's 2012 Core, this should work as well too (as it has the right version of .NET framework).

 

But I've put up and pinned the instructions. :)


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#17 aron

aron

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 17 February 2014 - 08:03 PM

hi,

 

My issue:

 

I am trying to get SMART data for my hard drives (SAS and SSD) with esxcli command " esxcli storage core device SMART -d <device name>"

 

when i try to query this command from my ESXi 5.1 host (installed on my server SSH to this host and ran this command), it gives all N/A (attached image). what should i exactly enable or disable and where, to get this command work with esxcli command?

 

 since i am very new with SMART, Vmware and Hard drive stuff, i cannot get my task work right, even though this post has more information, i am missing something.

 

can some please be more specific. thanks in advance!

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • NA.png


#18 otispresley

otispresley

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 99 posts
  • LocationApex, NC

Posted 17 February 2014 - 08:43 PM

@aron, this article covers how to get SMART data in Stablebit Scanner running in a Windows VM with RDM disks on an ESXi host.  The following is the KB article from VMware about how to query SMART data from your drives from the ESXi host CLI: http://kb.vmware.com...ernalId=2040405

 

You will also need to make sure that passing of SMART data is supported on your particular controller.  Here is an example from my host:

~ # esxcli storage core device smart get -d naa.5e83a97f147d02bc
Parameter                     Value  Threshold  Worst
----------------------------  -----  ---------  -----
Health Status                 OK     N/A        N/A
Media Wearout Indicator       0      0          0
Write Error Count             N/A    N/A        N/A
Read Error Count              117    50         100
Power-on Hours                100    0          100
Power Cycle Count             100    0          100
Reallocated Sector Count      100    3          100
Raw Read Error Rate           117    50         100
Drive Temperature             30     0          30
Driver Rated Max Temperature  N/A    N/A        N/A
Write Sectors TOT Count       N/A    N/A        N/A
Read Sectors TOT Count        N/A    N/A        N/A
Initial Bad Block Count       N/A    N/A        N/A

  • aron likes this

#19 aron

aron

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 17 February 2014 - 10:56 PM

 

@aron, this article covers how to get SMART data in Stablebit Scanner running in a Windows VM with RDM disks on an ESXi host.  The following is the KB article from VMware about how to query SMART data from your drives from the ESXi host CLI: http://kb.vmware.com...ernalId=2040405

 

You will also need to make sure that passing of SMART data is supported on your particular controller.  Here is an example from my host:

~ # esxcli storage core device smart get -d naa.5e83a97f147d02bc
Parameter                     Value  Threshold  Worst
----------------------------  -----  ---------  -----
Health Status                 OK     N/A        N/A
Media Wearout Indicator       0      0          0
Write Error Count             N/A    N/A        N/A
Read Error Count              117    50         100
Power-on Hours                100    0          100
Power Cycle Count             100    0          100
Reallocated Sector Count      100    3          100
Raw Read Error Rate           117    50         100
Drive Temperature             30     0          30
Driver Rated Max Temperature  N/A    N/A        N/A
Write Sectors TOT Count       N/A    N/A        N/A
Read Sectors TOT Count        N/A    N/A        N/A
Initial Bad Block Count       N/A    N/A        N/A

thanks for the reply.

 

I'm using 2008M-8i card and also 9271-8i RAID controller(i guess these both controllers are capable of getting SMART details), on both the servers i have esxi5.1 installed,  for some reason i don't get smart details in any server.

 

do i need to enable something in BIOS or in vsphere to get this command display all the details?



#20 aron

aron

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 17 February 2014 - 11:05 PM

thanks for the reply.

 

I'm using 2008M-8i card and also 9271-8i RAID controller(i guess these both controllers are capable of getting SMART details), on both the servers i have esxi5.1 installed,  for some reason i don't get smart details in any server.

 

do i need to enable something in BIOS or in vsphere to get this command display all the details?

 

When i run this command " ~ # esxcli storage core device partition list", when i have 13 drives in my server it displays only 8 and all the device names are same. confused here :(

 

Device                                Partition  Start Sector  End Sector  Type          Size
------------------------------------  ---------  ------------  ----------  ----  ------------
naa.60030130f09000001a94cdbc1e6ba1d5          0             0   388497408     0  198910672896
naa.60030130f09000001a94cdbc1e6ba1d5          1            64        8192     0       4161536
naa.60030130f09000001a94cdbc1e6ba1d5          2       1843200    10229760     6    4293918720
naa.60030130f09000001a94cdbc1e6ba1d5          3      10229760   388497375    fb  193673018880
naa.60030130f09000001a94cdbc1e6ba1d5          5          8224      520192     6     262127616
naa.60030130f09000001a94cdbc1e6ba1d5          6        520224     1032192     6     262127616
naa.60030130f09000001a94cdbc1e6ba1d5          7       1032224     1257472    fc     115326976
naa.60030130f09000001a94cdbc1e6ba1d5          8       1257504     1843200     6     299876352
 

so the smart command which i am running against the device is wrong? device name should be something else?/

 

 

 







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: SMART, ESXI, VMware, virtual, windows, server, 2012

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users