Jump to content

  • Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Photo

Windows 10 support etc


  • Please log in to reply
106 replies to this topic

#41 lyzanxia

lyzanxia

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 18 September 2015 - 07:48 AM

I upgraded from .636 to .649 (windows10). Had to revert back to .636.

Every 3-5 seconds I hear my pool hd's "click" on a build higher as .636. This is on a constant interval, as if drivepool is checking something.

I downgraded to .636 and the disks are back silent again.



#42 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 19 September 2015 - 04:59 PM

Used the advanced config to disable the "BitLocker_PoolPartUnlockDetect" option.

http://wiki.covecube...vanced_Settings


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#43 lyzanxia

lyzanxia

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 20 September 2015 - 08:08 AM

Yes, Seems to fix my problem. Thanks



#44 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 21 September 2015 - 08:56 PM

Okay, if that's the case, then it's the BitLocker detection that's causing the issue, as I thought.

 

And I've already flagged this for Alex. 


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#45 Beaker1024

Beaker1024

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 83 posts

Posted 04 October 2015 - 08:31 PM

How are the Beta builds doing?  I currently have version:  2.2.0.612 x64 installed on WHS2011 and it's doing ok.  But it's from April and a Beta so am thinking of upgrading to a newer build.

 

I couldn't find a true "Beta build" thread so I checked here and found the last comments on HDD clicking,etc.... not something I'd like to upgrade to having happen.

 

Is 651 (man that's a few updates from 612!!) have a fix for this BitLocker check issue?
 

Would you say 636 is the newest "safe/most stable" Beta?  If not what build is?



#46 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 05 October 2015 - 05:14 AM

Lots of questions. :)

 

You can find the change logs here:

http://dl.covecube.c...oad/changes.txt

 

The 651 build is the public beta build, so it should be very stable. And the safest one to use, actually.  And is the one I would recommend using.

 

As for the BitLocker issue... detection of encrypted drives being unlocked is fixed.

However, we changed the detection to be enabled by default. However, it may be part of the detection routine that wakes the drive (as it is considered activity). That's the issue mentioned. 

 

If you don't care about the disks idling, then there should be absolutely no issues. But if that is an issue, then disable the mentioned setting in the advanced settings file.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#47 pettakos

pettakos

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 21 October 2015 - 07:46 AM

Any update of a stable version regarding Windows 10 support?



#48 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 21 October 2015 - 08:31 PM

Any update of a stable version regarding Windows 10 support?

Soon, hopefully.

 

But the public beta build (2.2.0.651) includes Windows 10 support.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#49 taetertot

taetertot

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 01 November 2015 - 11:52 PM

How about for a clean install of Windows 10?

 

Right now I'm running Windows 8.1, and I have Drivepool 2.1.1.561 installed. I have 2.2.0.661 beta downloaded and can upgrade if necessary.

 

What I'll be doing is, installing the Windows 10 upgrade via Microsoft's update process.

 

And then I'll do a clean install of Windows 10.

 

What's the safest way to do this so my Drivepool is recognized on the clean Windows 10 install?



#50 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 02 November 2015 - 06:55 PM

What's the safest way to do this so my Drivepool is recognized on the clean Windows 10 install?

If you plan on doing a clean install:

Deactivate the license prior to doing so. 

(ideally) disconnect the pooled disk, to ensure no issues with the installation (it does weird things sometimes, if the system disk isn't the first disk).

Reinstall Windows.

Reconnect the disks (if they were disconnected).

Reinstall and Activate StableBit DrivePool.

 

Once the OS has been reinstalled and once StableBit DrivePool is installed, the software will recognize the pooled disks and automatically rebuild the pool. 


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#51 taetertot

taetertot

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 03 November 2015 - 06:41 PM

If you plan on doing a clean install:

Deactivate the license prior to doing so. 

(ideally) disconnect the pooled disk, to ensure no issues with the installation (it does weird things sometimes, if the system disk isn't the first disk).

Reinstall Windows.

Reconnect the disks (if they were disconnected).

Reinstall and Activate StableBit DrivePool.

 

Once the OS has been reinstalled and once StableBit DrivePool is installed, the software will recognize the pooled disks and automatically rebuild the pool. 

 

 

Tyvm. One quick followup: how do I deactivate license? In Settings I see "Manage License" and then the only option is "Transfer License."



#52 bmelloni

bmelloni

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 04 November 2015 - 11:51 AM

My son clued me into StableBit drivepool and scanner.  He's been using it since Windows 8.1 and had no problem with the Windows 10 upgrade (at least a month ago) even though the stable version isn't supposed to support windows 10.  I am also on Windows 10.

 

1) Scanner: I installed the stable version and had some issues.  They seemed to have fixed themselves after a reboot, but no... I just looked at the ErrorReports and I still see errors.  So I will follow the advice and upgrade to the beta version.

 

2) DrivePool:  What is safer for Windows 10, using the stable version (that seems to work fine for my son) or using the beta version (and possibly not get the automatic updates once it becomes stable)?



#53 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 09 November 2015 - 10:47 PM

Sorry for not getting to you sooner

My son clued me into StableBit drivepool and scanner.  He's been using it since Windows 8.1 and had no problem with the Windows 10 upgrade (at least a month ago) even though the stable version isn't supposed to support windows 10.  I am also on Windows 10.

 

1) Scanner: I installed the stable version and had some issues.  They seemed to have fixed themselves after a reboot, but no... I just looked at the ErrorReports and I still see errors.  So I will follow the advice and upgrade to the beta version.

 

2) DrivePool:  What is safer for Windows 10, using the stable version (that seems to work fine for my son) or using the beta version (and possibly not get the automatic updates once it becomes stable)?

 

Either version should work with Windows 10 without a problem.

However, if you're concerned at all, or experience any issues, then please do grab the Public Beta build (2.2.0.651) as that does officially support Windows 10, as well as includes a bunch of bug fixes.

 

Tyvm. One quick followup: how do I deactivate license? In Settings I see "Manage License" and then the only option is "Transfer License."

That's ... odd, It should give you a "Deactivate" option. If not, click on the "transfer" and run through that. If that doesn't work, then let us know directly at http://stablebit.com/Contact


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#54 Ian

Ian

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 15 November 2015 - 05:54 PM

Hi - I've installed the Win 10 'Fall' update.

Now when I start or restart my PC I get an error message telling me a drive is disconnected from the pool.

When I check they are all there.

I have Drivepool running on 3 PCs - so I check them all. They all appear OK.

Is this a bug?



#55 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 16 November 2015 - 05:56 PM

Hi - I've installed the Win 10 'Fall' update.

Now when I start or restart my PC I get an error message telling me a drive is disconnected from the pool.

When I check they are all there.

I have Drivepool running on 3 PCs - so I check them all. They all appear OK.

Is this a bug?

This is likely a timing issue with the service. Specifically, it may not be seeing all of the drives until a bit later in the startup process, which would trigger the behavior you're seeing.

 

Run "services.msc", find the "StableBit DrivePool Service", right click on it and select "Properties". Change the startup type from "Automatic" to "Automatic (Delayed)".

Reboot the system and see if this fixes the issue you're seeing.

 

If it doesn't, please open a ticket (http://stablebit.com/Contact) and upload the logs from the system:

http://wiki.covecube..._Log_Collection


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#56 HS86

HS86

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 23 November 2015 - 08:12 PM

Is a timeframe for a "stable" release with Windows 10 support already planned?

I am still holding off my WHS 2011 pool migration (still on v1) because of this and with the recent Windows 10 update to build 10586 I hope that the developers did not have to start from scratch.  :unsure:



#57 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 23 November 2015 - 08:15 PM

"soon".  

 

THe 2.2.0.651 Public Beta build includes official Windows 10 support (meaning that it is compiled against the Windows 10 SDK).  However, the release version does work on Windows 10 without any issues.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#58 marquis6461

marquis6461

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 23 December 2015 - 07:20 PM

Hi - I've installed the Win 10 'Fall' update.

Now when I start or restart my PC I get an error message telling me a drive is disconnected from the pool.

When I check they are all there.

I have Drivepool running on 3 PCs - so I check them all. They all appear OK.

Is this a bug?

Have to report that when my system was forced to upgrade.

Microsoft's sneaky upgrade.  My system started doing the same thing as IAN.

I pulled the system down to board and it still kept giving a Hard Drive was disconnected.

I then folled your advice Chris and it still says the same thing.

It had me kill my system for nothing.  I am at a loss but one thing has come out of it.  It gives me a reason to replace my case.



#59 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 28 December 2015 - 01:53 AM

Have to report that when my system was forced to upgrade.

Microsoft's sneaky upgrade.  My system started doing the same thing as IAN.

I pulled the system down to board and it still kept giving a Hard Drive was disconnected.

I then folled your advice Chris and it still says the same thing.

It had me kill my system for nothing.  I am at a loss but one thing has come out of it.  It gives me a reason to replace my case.

Try installing the beta build (2.2.0.651) and see if that helps.

https://stablebit.co...vePool/Download

 

if not, let me know.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#60 taflemer

taflemer

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 13 January 2016 - 04:59 PM

Windows 10 and Drivepool operability.

 

I have been running Drivepool on a WHS2011 machine for a few years now and am happy with the results.

 

In anticipation of WHS going away, Back in March, I started a test on a Windows 7 machine with Drivepool.  At the time, there were some posts about problems with Windows 10 and Drivepool.  However, I was not in a position to test.  At least from what I could determine Drivepool works fine on Windows 7.  Where I got into trouble was with MS Onedrive and syncing files on the machine.  I have read through pages of post, but cannot find anything that will give me some guidance on Windows 10.  So, I am hoping the someone can point me to better search tags on this forum.

 

Terry Walsh in his “Building a Windows 10 Home Server” is recommending Drivepool over the built in Storage Spaces.  At this point, I am agreeing with his concerns about Storage Spaces and want to proceed with Drivepool.  So, I am hoping someone can point me to posts on using Windows 10 and Drivepool for a home server.  Most of what I found so far are hardware issues that I don’t think apply to me (yet). 

 

Thanks for any help here.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users