Jump to content

  • Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Photo

Wd red drives 3Tb or 4 Tb any problems with either


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 robti

robti

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 18 January 2015 - 02:35 PM

Hi looking to add a couple more drives and was wondering if anyone could help with the above, wether any reported problems with either size ?

Thanks

Robert

#2 Ryo

Ryo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 251 posts

Posted 18 January 2015 - 07:22 PM

I have the 2.5 inch 1 TB and it is fast enough.   the 1 issue ive had was when I had to run a system reload I diconected the red drive to hook a dvd rom up... after reload I reconnected the red and my system would not see it.... so I called newegg and got it rmad immediately new drive is back up running flawlessly.. im getting ready to oder the 6 TB red and my best advise is backup backup backup...and im switching to a usb dvd rom for system reloads because disconnecting hdd sucks.



BTW newegg rma is much faster than WD



#3 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 18 January 2015 - 07:57 PM

Nope, no problem at all.
 
In fact, I run mostly 4TB WD Red drives (and a few 4TB Seagate NAS drives as well).
No issues at all

 

In fact, as long as the disk is initialized as GPT, there is no practical partition size limit, as it supports well past the TB range for sizes.

And StableBit DrivePool will initialize and partition disks "properly" when adding them to the pool, if needed.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#4 Ryo

Ryo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 251 posts

Posted 18 January 2015 - 08:09 PM

I have a quick ? is there a limit to the number of red drives in a server?im planning a total of 11  ( 10 hopefully 6 TB + & 1  @ 2.5 inch 1TB



#5 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 18 January 2015 - 08:13 PM

Recommended? Yes. It was 5-6, IIRC, but now it's 8.

I'm running 8 without a problem. 

So, there really isn't any practical limitation on the number you can run.

 

I (and others) suspect that the "limit" is based more on vibration than anything else.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#6 Beaker1024

Beaker1024

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 83 posts

Posted 22 January 2015 - 02:39 PM

I just installed a 4TB red WD drive in my WHS2011 using both DrivePool and Stablebit scanner.  No issues.

 

I did used the WHS2011 add new storage drive wizard and for some reason it decided to go with MBR instead of GPT.  I decided to leave it that way and let there be two partitions instead of one for the physical HDD.  Just left the balancers rule for equalizing volumes on same drive enabled and it shouldn't matter.  Maybe it'll spread the wear / location of filling the disk up differentially with two partitions?  Likely won't matter a lick either way.

 

As for the drive working with the software / OS & Covecube's it's a dream (well for the two weeks it's been going).

 

PS - I also decided with adding this harddrive to go ahead and change to leaving all 5 of my server drives spinning 100% (no idle/standby/sleep).  No ill effects yet but I don't miss the lag due to drive spin ups when accessing the server!



#7 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 24 January 2015 - 08:09 PM

Yeah, WHS2011 likes to use MBR, but either should be fine (we prefer GPT).

 

And yes, StableBit DrivePool is smart enough to know which partitions are on which disk, and will place duplicated data on different PHYSICAL disks.

 

And as for the sleep/spin up stuff, yeah, that's why I've never bothered. I use my server a lot, and share it with friends and family, so there is no reason to spin down (that, and we have solar :P )


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#8 firebretha

firebretha

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 15 June 2015 - 03:49 PM

i've heard of a few issues with some of their drives early on, something like infant mortality. etc. How long would you guys test a hard drive before being confident it has the ability to take its place in the pool?

 



#9 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 15 June 2015 - 07:07 PM

i've heard of a few issues with some of their drives early on, something like infant mortality. etc. How long would you guys test a hard drive before being confident it has the ability to take its place in the pool?

Yeah, they're supposed to suffer from "infant mortality".

 

And for me, if they pass a full surface scan, they get put into the pool right away.

And since I duplicate everything, if the drive fails, it's not going to be a huge loss for me.

However, you could configure the "Disk Usage Limiter" to only place duplicated data on the new drive, if you're worried.


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#10 firebretha

firebretha

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 15 June 2015 - 07:38 PM

Yeah, they're supposed to suffer from "infant mortality".

 

And for me, if they pass a full surface scan, they get put into the pool right away.

And since I duplicate everything, if the drive fails, it's not going to be a huge loss for me.

However, you could configure the "Disk Usage Limiter" to only place duplicated data on the new drive, if you're worried.


Just saw another post about doing the full format to have is Zero out the disk to test it. I have her running in the background now formatting and then I am going to run that "disk usage limiter" I had No idea it was in place and it was something I was hoping existed for duplicated data. 

A "Problem" that now has made my experience better. 
 



#11 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 15 June 2015 - 07:52 PM

Personally, I feel that the full format is unnecessary, and more detrimental to the drive's health than it is helpful.  (but all evidence for and against this is purely anecdotal). 

 

In theory, if a full surface scan doesn't detect any issues, it's probably fine.

 

 

And yeah, there are a good number of options in the built in balancers. Worth taking a look at. :)


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#12 Ryo

Ryo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 251 posts

Posted 28 May 2017 - 05:34 AM

2 years later and all my reds are still going like brand new.. I have a ? about the wd red pro drives that run at 7200 rpm... what is the difference between them and comparable wd black drive .. besides the 24/7 operation... I'm curious because my 5400rpm red in my gaming rig is a lil slow and I'm debating what to get for the steam collection... 



#13 zhup

zhup

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts

Posted 28 May 2017 - 07:05 AM

I have few 4TB WD Reds (5400) and few 4TB NAS HGST (7200). Both are reliable.

Next time I will buy only WD Reds (5400) are cheaper and much colder.


zhup


#14 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 29 May 2017 - 09:48 PM

2 years later and all my reds are still going like brand new.. I have a ? about the wd red pro drives that run at 7200 rpm... what is the difference between them and comparable wd black drive .. besides the 24/7 operation... I'm curious because my 5400rpm red in my gaming rig is a lil slow and I'm debating what to get for the steam collection... 

 

Glad to hear it.

 

As for differences between the WD Red Pro's and WD Black? 

 

Well, most of the specs are the same (cache size, warranty period, RPM, performance, etc). 

The difference is that the Red Pro's are more durable (less errors), lower power consumption, higher max temperature , and lower volume.

 

Additionally, there are a number of firmware differences, such as (likely) TLER support in the Red Pro's, as well as "vibration" management/compensation. 

 

 

So really, either is a perfectly viable option, depending on what you're doing. 


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.


#15 Ryo

Ryo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 251 posts

Posted 22 June 2017 - 05:31 AM

I'm looking for a faster hard drive for my steam collection in my gaming rig. I'm currently using a 5400rpm wd red 3tb drive.. I'm debating going with a red pro 7200 rpm or maybe ssd but the ssd is so expensive on larger 1tb+ capacities.. so I'm thinking red pro for my drivepool on my gaming rig... any ideas would be great..



#16 Spider99

Spider99

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • LocationWarrington, UK

Posted 22 June 2017 - 10:39 AM

Hi

 

Red pro are noisy and run hot although a good drive - but expensive for what you get if you are not going to use them in a NAS

 

i have HGST (4tb) drives and they are fast at 170 + MB/s when lightly filled when full they drop down to ~ 120 MB/s with large files

 

SSD's obviously significantly faster

 

Have you thought of Raid 0 for stream - as long as you have a good backup strategy to protect your data - then cheaper/smaller SSD's could be used as a failure will take out the whole raid as 0 has no redundancy 


  • Christopher (Drashna) likes this

Tim

---------

DrivePool & Scanner on 2012R2 Essentials Server Gigabyte Z87x OC Force, i7-4790S, 32 GB, LSI 9211, HP SAS Expander, 27 Storage disks, 6 SSD Cache, ~115 TB Storage


#17 Christopher (Drashna)

Christopher (Drashna)

    Customer and Technical Support

  • Administrators
  • 8,208 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA, USA

Posted 22 June 2017 - 07:33 PM

I'm looking for a faster hard drive for my steam collection in my gaming rig. I'm currently using a 5400rpm wd red 3tb drive.. I'm debating going with a red pro 7200 rpm or maybe ssd but the ssd is so expensive on larger 1tb+ capacities.. so I'm thinking red pro for my drivepool on my gaming rig... any ideas would be great..

 

 

haha, I  have a configuration for this.   

 

Use StableBit DrivePool.  use an SSD and HDD in the pool (speed doesn't matter).  Set the "Drive usage limiter" so that only duplicated data is placed on the SSD (uncheck "unduplicated" for it).  Then place the contents on the pool. Enable duplication for the games that you are playing, or play frequently, and disable on the drives that you don't play often or don't care about.

 

This way, you have the games you're using on the faster but smaller drive, and you have the larger storage for "everything", and you can cycle stuff out "as needed". 

And the read striping feature should prefer the SSD, for the duplicated files. :)

 

As I said, I use this exact configuration on my desktop and it works quite well. 

And even a slower hard drive is fine here, as it should use the SSD for the most part. 


Christopher Courtney

aka "Drashna"

Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012

Lead Moderator for We Got Served

Moderator for Home Server Show

 

This is my server

 

Lots of "Other" data on your pool? Read about what it is here.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users